Lost in beta hCG translation?

My last failed cycle left me seriously down. Nevertheless there is a unique advantage from a failed cycle: I get my period. This is a given for most people but not for me: I normally need to take meds for a couple of weeks, which generally leaves me exhausted before I start a cycle.

So, given that I had a period, that my lining and blood work look good and, above all, that my husband is really keen on it, we decided today that we’ll do a FET on this cycle. Unlike last time, I don’t have the energy to be optimistic and positive etc. I am going with the flow, following my husband’s request but going for a fully pessimistic approach, which is all more natural to a real Pisces like me.

There are however a few practical problems with this cycle. First my husband got to know yesterday that he will have to leave for a week. So I will be doing everything on my own. I was surprised to see his sadness when he thought we had to wait to the fall to cycle. Besides the annoying paper work needed for me to do the FET without him, this is not that a big deal.

More importantly, I have agreed to a work trip to Japan (followed by some time off) and cannot cancel now. The problem is that I may not be able to do the beta hCG test before leaving. The gynecologist said it’s easy to do it in Japan but google was of no help. Having noticed in my blog’s stats that I have a reader from Japan, I’d like to ask for help to my Japanese reader/reader in Japan (as well as anyone else): do you have any idea of where and how I could get a beta hCG test done in Yokohama or Tokyo? Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

This will be fun. I’ll be like Scarlett except lost in the translation of a beta..

Lost in translation

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lost in beta hCG translation?

  1. I don’t get my period on my own either and it really sucks when you want to get the show on the road for a new cycle and have to wait soooo long to start again. Good luck to you this month!

  2. Congrats on the upcoming transfer! Love that movie 🙂 I know a few months ago another blogger had betas drawn in Tokyo but *no clue* who that was or where she went–it’s a PIA, Iknow that much. But where there’s a will, there’s a way. XOXO

  3. E v e l y n says:

    I don’t believe you’re naturally pessimistic. That’s never come across in your posts.

    I’ve always done the cycles on my own and don’t find it’s that big a deal, particularly the transfer. Sad that he misses it though.

    I hope you write a post about the blood draw in Japan. I’m sure the fundamentals are the same as everywhere else but I always like hearing about the differences, even minor ones.

    Good luck on the transfer.

  4. chels819 says:

    Hope you find an answer! Good luck on your FET!

  5. I am happy to read that everything is falling into place for your FET and hope you’ve managed to find some answers to your Japan question. Have you decided with you RE which of the embryos you’ll transfer? Sending lots of thoughts your way for a smooth transfer. xxx

    • kiftsgate says:

      I don’t really have a choice for the RE. I’ll stick to the same one until I’m out of frosties then I’ll decide. I can’t decide now, my brain cells are gone..
      The transfer went well, thanks!
      xxx

  6. Pingback: My BFN and I are off to Japan | Today I hope

Leave a comment