Good times

I’m just back from a wonderful week-end in London catching up with some fantastic friends. I got back home with a huge smile on my face. This week-end reminded me that there are some really special people in this world and that I’ve been so lucky to meet them. Fun moments like this can happen, especially when we willing to be in the right mood to make them happen.
A year ago I was doing my first IVF. I was experimenting my first injections with the same very fantastic person I met up with this week-end. I was in an awful mood as I had not yet digested the news that we would never be able to conceive naturally. Right now I’m getting ready for IVF number 3 and, despite a rather depressing and difficult year has gone by, I feel a lot better than I did this time last year. I feel more energetic, more ready to face difficulties, less in despair.
I think this is mostly because I’ve had time to accept the situation but also because this year has taught me quite a bit about myself, about our couple and about my life in general. I have been reminded that I’m a good person and that I deserve good things (infertility makes you feel worthless and useless), that my husband and I are a good couple and love each other, that I have a fantastic family and great friends (as I’ve just been reminded this week-end) and that there may be some good things even in a future without children. There is no evidence on the effect of good moods on fertility, but never know.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good times

  1. E v e l y n says:

    I think it’s important to realize that no matter what happens we can all have a good life, but I’m glad you’re happier going into an IVF. I think it does make a difference.

Leave a Reply

