Everything is a symptom during the TWW

If you try to google "two week wait" (TWW), you’ll find a few websites describing what the TWW is and listing possible symptoms but most of all an enormous amounts of women in various Internet fora freaking out, describing symptoms and signs and hoping to that someone will help them understand whether what they are feeling is a good or a bad sign.

I know I shouldn’t google and I shouldn’t read these things since it does not really help get an early answer on whether the IVF has worked. Everyone has different feelings, symptoms and reactions. But reading through websites has helped me understand how useless looking for symptoms is. What was a good sign for someone, was bad for someone else. A certain feeling can easily have been felt by someone who got a positive or someone who got a negative.

This is very clear to me in theory. Yet, right now everything I feel is a sign. I don’t know whether they are good or bad signs, but I can’t help wonder…

On the first day after the transfer. I couldn’t feel anything. I thought that was a bad sign. I googled and figured that some people who had felt nothing got a positive result. Basically useless sign.

On the second day I had some cramps in the lower abdomen and thought it was a good sign. It could be a bad sign too but it has been described as a good sign by many. the cramping didn’t last long though.Then during the night I woke up at 3AM with really strong cervical pain. These are cramps I usually have right before getting my period. Clearly a bad sign. Since I woke up in pain I panicked and immediately turned on the computer to check if anyone else had felt the same. I couldn’t find much but had a hard time calming down. At 5AM I decided to force myself to sleep: I put on "Tangled" (thank you Mr Disney, I love that movie and I’ve seen it so many times it makes me fall asleep in10 minutes by now).

Tired from the night, I spent the third day with teary eyes and in complete pessimism. I had also found two spots on my face and decided my bad skin was a sign of my period coming. Luckily, since I was exhausted, I slept most of the day.

Today was again a day of no feelings. I only had mild pain in the abdomen for a tiny bit. I told my mum I was in pain but that I was happy about it. She looked at me like I was a nut case. But I really don’t like feeling nothing!

There are a number of other common symptoms:

– sore breasts: I’ve had sore breasts for basically 2 months now because of treatments, so I can’t count this as a symptom.

– feeling bloated: I feel a bit bloated but it’s nothing compared to last week. I would think this is also a bad sign, but it may just be my body enjoying the lack of injections.

– spotting: none so far. Could be good (no period coming) and could be bad (no implantation).

– fatigue: I feel very tired but then I blame that on the progesterone pessaries. I was exhausted last year too but it didn’t work.
– other: I’ve had none of all other symptoms (headaches, frequent peeing, constipation, thirst, nausea, etc..).

I know myself how useless an exercise this is. But I can’t help it. And given the amount of people asking for help on the net, I see I am not the only one. In a week tomorrow I’ll find out, so I only have seven and a half days to go. Let’s see what other symptoms I can come up with.

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Everything is a symptom during the TWW

  1. Kitten says:

    I still Google symptoms after 2 years of IF. It’s impossible not to wonder about every little thing. By the way, you’re one of the few who has ever mentioned getting cervical pain before your period. I get that, too.

  2. newtoivf says:

    Must be so hard…will probably having my IVF 2ww end of june and can’t say I’m looking forward to it!

  3. stinam says:

    Waiting must be the hardest part. Sometimes I just want an answer so I can stop obsessing. Sending prayers and positive thoughts your way!

  4. E v e l y n says:

    Every cycle I tell myself not to obsess but it’s impossible.

  5. I tried to avoid it, but I’m addicted to google and peeing on sticks. It’s hilarious how every symptom imaginable has such contradictory information. According to the Internet, I am definitely pregnant and definitely not pregnant right now.

  6. Ha ha I was just thinking and writing about this phenomenon – I know I shouldn’t be looking at all these chat rooms they make me nuts but I can’t help myself!

  7. jesselyn6585 says:

    It’s hard when you want something so badly. A lot of women who are TTC actually cause pregnancy like symptoms because they want babies so badly. It’s amazing what our breains are capable of. Here’s hoping that your signs are all positive and that there’s a beaufitul baby growing in there.

  8. chels819 says:

    I hear you!!! I am 3dp5dt and am freaking out about the mild on and off again cramping. This is the worst wait EVER! Hang in there!!!!

Leave a Reply

