Failed IVF WTF appointment

Pardon my French, but I recently saw this expression in another blog and found it perfect for describing the first doctor’s appointment after a failed IVF cycle. I have actually calmed down enough to avoid entering the gynecologist’s office asking "why hasn’t it worked this time either!??!" with a WTF tone..

We have two frozen embies: one of good quality, the other not so good. I had already decided I needed a break and that we would do the transfer after summer. But my decision was not so firm since I also wanted to do the transfer as soon ad possible. Had the gynaecologist proposed to start immediately, I don’t know if i would have had the strenght to say no.

Luckily enough she recommended taking a few months to rest. She talked about my body needing rest and so on. But to be honest I feel my mind needs even more rest.

So here we are about to take another 3-4 month break. Not so ready yet to decide what to do with all this time but at least the big decision to wait is taken.

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Failed IVF WTF appointment

  1. E v e l y n says:

    I was torn about my current break too and it still bugs me every day how old I’ll be when I get to try again.

    The rest is probably good though so try to get the most out of it.

  2. Melanie says:

    I’m a silent lurker but wanted to let you know you are in my thoughts.

  3. knalani says:

    I’m so sorry! Yes, WTF appointment does seem apt.

    The offer still stands for a beer in San Diego whenever you’re ready!

  4. redbluebird says:

    I’m sorry. I’m glad the doctor recommended a break though, so you weren’t stuck making a tough decision. I’m hoping the few months off will allow your mind & body to heal a little in preparation for the transfer.

  5. Joanna Schwartz says:

    Rest your body and don’t forget to rest your mind, soul and heart too, sweetie.

  6. eph525 says:

    I’m really sorry to hear it’s not going smoothly.

Leave a Reply

