A really fun gay wedding

Finally a weekend (almost) free of infertility issues. We went to another wedding. This is a couple we know quite well: a guy who studied with my hubby and his partner. It was a very international and mixed crowd: actors, movie makers, painters, engineers, lawyers, Australians, Americans, French, Colombians, Brits, Italians, Mexicans, Turks etc. Really good fun!

The ceremony was beautiful and touching. Then, one of the actresses read a text my Gabriel García Márquez, which I found really moving. I’ll add a bit here, but also link the full English and Spanish (the original) texts for those who’d like to read the whole thing.

“If for an instance, God should forget
I am only a puppet made of cloth
and bestow as a gift a scrap of life,
I probably could not say all that I think,
but would put thought into all that I say.

I would value things not for their worth,
but for their significance.

I would sleep very little and dream more
with the awareness that every minute
we keep our eyes closed
we lose sixty seconds of Light. […]

I would prove to the men how mistaken they are
in thinking that they no longer fall in love when they grow old–
not knowing that they grow old when they stop falling in love. […]

I have learned that everybody wants to live
on top of the mountain,
not knowing that true happiness lies in
climbing the mountain.

I have learned that when a newborn first squeezes
his father’s finger in his tiny fist, he has caught him forever. […]”

It was a bit hard to hold back tears when I heard this last part..

The weather was gorgeous, ideal for a picnic in the countryside (it was a picnic pot luck wedding), for being outdoors and going swimming in the nearby river. The couple and his friends are convinced naturists so it was also our first experience of collective skinny dipping. Not something I’m going to become a huge fan of, but not too bad for once. We also had a chance to watch fireworks mirrored on the water of a nearby lake. Very pretty.

Otherwise, I am even proud of getting out quite well from an uncomfortable conversation: I was with this couple of friends who have two children and she was having a hard time making them fall asleep. I found myself alone with the guy, who sighted “it’s really hard to be a mum”. I just gave him a weird look and started laughing. He realized he said something which wasn’t ideally phrased but went on to add “you know, you guys can just have fun and enjoy your time together”. I just laughed and told me he had managed to say two of the top what-not-to-say-to-an-infertile phrases. I referred him to various websites… Neither of us got annoyed and this was all said while laughing and with no tension. I wish I could stay zen and laugh every time…

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A really fun gay wedding

  1. jesselyn6585 says:

    This sounds like a beautiful weekend. I’m so happy for you. You deserve to have a weekend like this. ❤

  2. barrenbetty says:

    Wow, that picture is beautiful and well done for fending off the rude phrase with such dignity🙂 xx

  3. knalani says:

    Sounds like you turned a possible awkward moment into a learning opportunity. I’m sure future infertiles who cross his path will benefit from your generous investment of energy!

  4. That last line by Gabriel García Márquez made me sigh. How beautiful. One day, right? x

  5. E v e l y n says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time, except the skinny dipping part (for me at least). The poem is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

