FET preparation

This morning I had a really hard time waking up. I was exhausted. Getting my period seriously kills my energy. Adding the fact that it only comes after 10 days of meds (duphaston) makes me even more tired. I envy so much the girls in the tampons adverts whose problem is not that they have no energy to do sports but that they don’t want to show they have their period while they are doing sports. I’ve never been good at doing sports while having my period. But with the intention to keep up sports while taking hormones and preparing for the FET, I have dragged myself outside running over lunch break today. It was hard to convince myself to go but I have to admit that it felt good afterwards.

Since starting with IVF and treatments I’ve been really eager to gather as much information as possible and to understand all I could about the meds, the process and the options. Until now. I have no idea why but I’ve been completely uninterested in this Frozen Embryo Transfer (FET) that I’m preparing for. I’ve been so badly organised that I had lost my prescription and instructions on what meds to take. Luckily I found it just on time to start treatments yesterday.

So, in order to get myself a little more organised, I’m going to describe the plan for this FET:

  1. Estradiol stims: I have to take some estradiol (provames 2mg) for two weeks. These are pills that are normally meant to be taken orally but my doctor’s instructions say I should take them as pessaries. I spent one hour last night figuring out whether I had understood correctly, since of course I realized this too late to call the doctor and ask for a confirmation. Looking into online infertility fora it does seem like this is rather common. I also have to take some sort of pain meds (aspegic nourisson) which is the same I take during the two-week wait (TWW) after IVF normally. After three IVF cycles, I still have no idea what this is used for.
  2. Check: after the two weeks I’ll go in for a blood test and a scan.
  3. Progesterone: if the check goes alright, I have to add to the mix some progesterone (Estima Gé) as well as some sort of anti inflammatory pills (Ciflox).
  4. Transfer: if all goes well 5 days from the check I’ll get the two embies transferred.
  5. Post-transfer: I need to carry on taking the estradiol "pessaries" but also add some anti-miscarriage meds for a few days, and then just continue with the estradiol until the end of the TWW.

I think part of my lack of interest in this cycle is due to the fact that, even now that I wrote it all down, I have no idea of what this means. The IVF treatments are pretty clear: you want to make my eggs grow but, take them out and then make my body believe I’m pregnant so you can stick the embies back in and try to have them stick. But this one just seems harder for me to understand.

Has anyone done a FET before? Does this look ok?

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FET preparation

  1. E v e l y n says:

    Looks similar to mine except for the pain meds. I’ve never taking them alhtough if they are aspirin based that could be why. I’ve taken low dose asprin prior to a transfer. I think it’s though to incourage implantation. Also post transfer I’ve had to continue progesterone and would have stayed on it until 10 weeks pregnant (if I’d actually gotten pregnant). Without a corpus luteum from ovulation your body won’t have enough progesterone to maintain pregnancy.

    I have taken estradiol vaginally. I’ve heard it’s more effective than orally but it does seem weird that a pill could be dual purpose. Also be prepared for blue/green discharge (or whatever colour your pills may be).

    Regarding feeling disconnected from the process for a FET, I felt like that too. Doing a fresh transfer after donor eggs was very anti-climactic as well. I think that might be because doing an IVF you are in and out of the clinic often leading up to retrieval and in what seems like constant contact with the clinic and with an FET you aren’t so it’s pretty much your normal life with a few minor exceptions.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

