Frozen embryo transfer statistics

Every time I start treatments I look at statistics as they may have improved from one IVF cycle to the other. I look at statistics as if they could help me decide how much to hope. Truth is this is so important to me that even when I deny to myself and the world that I have any hope, I still do have loads. And hope is there even when I see ridiculously low numbers. Silly me, I never learn!

So, statistics for this FET aren’t great. I browsed through loads of online fora and information website (I know, by now I should know that it’s useless but I cant help it..). I found success rates from 7% to 80%. The range shows how reliable these stats are.. Whoever told a girl that she had 80% chance of success must have been drunk or lying to motivate her to be positive. Or I missed something..

Then I checked on the website of my clinic, and for my age range the success rate is 15.95%. That’s the rate of a healthy delivery. The pregnancy rate is a bit higher, about 21%. The gap is miscarriages, which happen at a rate of about 24%.

Basically my key reference number is 16% (let’s round it up). Not very high…sig…

In any case, I’m really looking forward to Monday: after almost a month of drugs I am finally getting checked and I’ll at least know better if we’re going ahead with the transfer. If I’m lucky enough I may even have a date for the transfer! In the meanwhile, enjoy the weekend!!

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frozen embryo transfer statistics

  1. damelapin says:

    Enjoy it too! I do the same as you but end up often depressed…

  2. newtoivf says:

    Good luck for Monday xx

  3. E v e l y n says:

    When I did my first donor egg cycle the doctor said with a donor the age of mine there was over 78% chance of preganancy and if pregnancy wasn’t achieved on the fresh transfer than combined with a frozen transfer the chance was 86% of achieving pregnancy. So here I am 2 fresh donor cycles and 2 frozen cycles later and I’m not pregnant.

    Some people end up on the wrong side of the stats. As you can see, I’m one of them. Maybe you will be too.

  4. Little Wife says:

    Statistics… The last ones I checked were the chances to have no fecondation twice in FIV ICSI… 1,5% only ! And you know the end… Try not to focus on figures. Have a nice week end.

  5. Sadie says:

    Hope can be such a pesky emotion…It’d be easier just to detach from the process altogether, but I’m the same as you – no matter how many disappointments, I always retain an unreasonable amount of the stuff. And it can motivate, but can also make the hurt of a negative cycle that much more painful. Sigh.

    In any case, I hope your appointment today brings you some of the answers you need to move forward!

Leave a Reply

