Relaxation hypnotherapy

Today I tried yet one more thing to add to the list of all I tried to help with getting pregnant: hypnotherapy.

The other day I noticed on my acupuncturist’s website that she also did hypnotherapy and I thought it may help stay calm in the TWW. Anything that keep me calmer great!
It wasn’t hypnosis like in the movies where someone gets hypnotized and does/says all sort of things. It was more of a relaxation exercise. First she simply had me breathe, then and relax each part of my body. Then she started having me picture certain images: lying on the grass, looking at the sky, birds in the air, the birds flying in the wind, floating, going and then coming back, then the birds building a nest, using grass and bits and pieces of wood. I fell asleep for a bit. Then she told me I could come back on “on earth” whenever I was ready to and had me wake up each part of my body, slowly and calmly.
It was really crazy how it really felt like coming back from above when she told me to come back to earth. It was nice and relaxing. I mostly imagined places that looked like places I know, like from the mountains where I used to go as a child and where I still go now to see my parents. One funny thing is that when she told me to imagine the bird building a nest, I made sure the nest was high up in the trees, in branches where the cats could not reach them. My parents take care of a bunch of cats in the mountains but they are quite wild and tend to kill the little birds. So, even if asleep, I tried to make sure the cats couldn’t reach the nest.
It was a bit like a guided meditation, which made it a lot easier for my mind to stay on the images of nature and calm instead of going on a crazy flow of thoughts as I normally do.
I found a few videos of the same sort of exercise on youtube, like the one below, which uses images of a beach and waves.
I think I’ll try to do a bit more of this. It really does make me feel calmer.
This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Relaxation hypnotherapy

  1. E v e l y n says:

    I’m so sleep deprived I’ve come to this blog 3 times and finally realized who it is. When I read mountains and visiting your parents I knew.

    The way you describe hypnotherapy reminds me of the Circle+Bloom recordings. They always put me to sleep. The process is amazing. Keep it up.

  2. E v e l y n says:

    Oh, I love the name of the blog. It’s an excellent reminder that no matter what the day brings hope is always a possibility.

  3. Joanna Schwartz says:

    Like it!

  4. My acupuncturist does hypnotherapy as well and I’ve been debating scheduling a session. In the meantime I’ve been using a hypnotherapy recording for IVF, which is feels like a guided meditation as well with a track for each part of the IVF cycle. The hypnotherapist on the CD has a nice relaxing voice, which helps me in the whilrwind of the IVF clinic. I can try sending you the tracks if you’re interested. Glad to have reconnected with your blog.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thank you! I would be really interesting in your meditation tracks. If you can’t send the tracks, maybe you could send me the title or reference. Thanks a lot! It may be good for the next cycle, though it won’t be very soon..

  5. I wasn’t able to figure out how to send things via the blog, but here is the reference for the CD:

    The IVF Belief CD – Hypnosis and visualisations for a relaxed and positive IVF treatment cycle (by Helen McPherson).
    There is also a fertility yoga DVD that I’ve found quite empowering and energizing. Unfortunately it’s a bit pricey and I think only available through Amazon US. If you’re interested in seeing what it’s like, I could maybe send it via snail mail or drop it off if I make it up to Paris un de ces quatre:
    Restoring Fertility yoga for optimal fertility (by Drs. Brandon Horn and Wendy Yu)

    • I didn’t realize that it would insert the huge photo links…sorry. Maybe you can delete them before accepting or just jot down the information and not accept.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thanks so much for all this info!! And it would be lovely to see if you come by Paris some time. With or without the Yoga CD😉
      I took out the links as you suggested.
      Thanks a lot!!

Leave a Reply

