WTF appointment #2 of 2013

This morning I went for the routine post-failure appointment with the gynecologist. Hubby came along since he wanted to hear explanations on what went wrong. I wish he got used to the standard 15-30 minutes delay because complaining about it every 2 minutes does not make the doctor speed up, it just makes me more tired. A part from that, I was glad he came along.

As usual there was no clear explanation. But this time she said that, since we have had a few transfer by now, it may be time to check my endometrium. The next step is therefore going to be an endometrial biopsy to see if endometrial scraping could help implantation for the next rounds. I’m happy we are doing this, it’s one thing that we have not tried yet.

I also asked her about all the other ideas I had in mind (listed in my last post):

  • In-Vitro Maturation (IVM) is apparently not necessary for us, since we have managed to get some good embryos out of IVF, even if not very many. It may be an option for later.
  • Metformin is not used anymore here because of its heavy side effects. Apparently it’s been replaced by a vitamin supplement, which I will be taking  to see if it helps my ovaries produce less crappy eggs.
  • Checking my hormones more is apparently not necessary. They were fine during this cycle so that cannot be the answer. But I did get the name of a new endocrinologist to see if we can better check my thyroid.
  • She was not against ovarian drilling, although it is not fully clear how that could help us since we’d still have to do IVF because of the male side. We agreed to think about it a bit more. And in any case it would not be for this year because we’ll do the biopsy first.
  • Since we won’t do IVF right away, I left some things for later discussion (e.g. assisted hatching, genetic testing).

The gynecologist saw that our mood was pretty low and tried to be encouraging but it didn’t help much. Walking out I told hubby that even if I understand that there is still a lot we can do and that I should be optimistic, I still feel like crying when I think about it. He said he feels just the same. I think we’re both really tired right now. It’s been a long year with a lot of fighting and a lot of failures.

Anyways, I am off to Japan tomorrow, on a mission to find cool Halloween stuff for the wonderful International IF Pumpking carving competition: Pumpkin Smackdown 2013. Thanks again to the genius minds of Barren Betty and Fertility Doll for organizing this!

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to WTF appointment #2 of 2013

  1. Stina says:

    Hang in there… 🙂

  2. Thinking of you, xoxo
    I hope your trip will give you a little break from all of this.

  3. damelapin says:

    Oh fun competition! Hang in there. Thinking of u…

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thank you!
      Are you taking part to the carving competition?

      • damelapin says:

        I’m French, so Halloween doesn’t exist very much over there.
        I’m dreaming of crossing the ocean – I feel much more closer to the north-american (or English) way of life. WOuld love to take part in this kind of competition, to go house to house at halloween with my future children, etc…

        • kiftsgate says:

          Yup same here. I spent a year in the US and Halloween was the best thing ever! Had so much fun carving pumpkins. Too bad I’m off to Japan, otherwise we could have pulled forces and showed some European carving skills 😉
          You could still try, it’s a lot of fun! And you can also cook lots of nice things with the pumpkin. The only problem is that it’s really hard to find a big pumpkin to carve in France..

          • damelapin says:

            Yes, and living in Paris we don’t have farms that grow pumpkins… And living in a small flat… messy ^^ Not a big deal, I’ll enjoy it XXXX times more later, it’s like motherhood 😉

    • Grab any type of squash and veg – join in for the fun of it 😀 x

  4. lydiaseeks says:

    I was in Japan last October and I LOVED it. Have so much fun!

  5. Lisette says:

    So hard, so exhausting. Big hug, lots of love and support you way xx

  6. jesselyn6585 says:

    I’m glad they have an alternative to metformin and you’ll be taking it. Sending you love and faith. Have fun in Japan.

  7. Japan is awesome!! Eat some sushi, Don’t be afraid of going to the small shops, (they sometimes have the best food!) and enjoy yourself! You’re in my thoughts!

  8. E v e l y n says:

    I always dreaded those appointments because I was always worried I’d have a meltdown and that’s probably more frustrating over the phone than in person. The last clinic I was at only booked them if you wanted. I realized during one of the other cycles that if I didn’t book one but then initiated another transfer the doctor called me to plan it and didn’t charge me because I hadn’t booked an appointment. Silly but I was happy to save the $150 or however much it was.

  9. E v e l y n says:

    Oh, I forgot to tell you to have fun in Japan. I hope you can post some pictures here.

  10. Little Wife says:

    I hope this trip will be the occasion to forget about all this a few days. Japan is just the perfect place for that.
    Bon voyage!
    Bisous.

  11. barrenbetty says:

    I hear you on the being tired. You’ve had a tough year and it’s not surprising you are starting to become exhausted. I hope you have some fun in Japan inbetween work and pumpkin prize hunting! I am hoping 2014 will be a much happier year for you… you deserve a break xxx

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thanks! I hope 2014 will be a much happier year for all of us who are still waiting.. Big hug and will keep you updated on the prizes! This is a real challenge in between the typhoon and earthquake! xx

  12. Wishing you a brilliant time in Japan! 😀 I hope you come back feeling a little more energised and less depleted by this whole journey. My friend went recently and the islands look amazing. x

  13. Joanna Schwartz says:

    On a Halloween related note, I made pumpkin custards today with maple syrup, brown sugar, cinnamon and ginger. Enjoy your trip, bunny.

Leave a Reply

