My trip to Japan

This short trip to Japan was fantastic, a lot better than I expected. I did not have much time to visit, but it was just enough to feel like I want to go back and discover more. The Japanese people are so kind and so nice!

I did have some time to escape from the conference. One morning I went to visit a Shrine up the mountains and then for a hike. The Shrine was beautiful but  I also found two tiny Shrines up the mountain, which I loved even more.

Image

I also managed to spent two evenings in Tokyo, thanks to a super quick train that took us there from the little town where I was staying. One evening we visited a traditional area where there was a big Shrine and nice little streets with traditional buildings. At the Shrine a Japanese girl explained us how to check our fortune with the O-mikuji, little papers which tell you your fortune. I followed her instructions and got “Good fortune in the future”. The paper said that my family at present has lots of problems and worries but that in the future it will get better. I hope that’s correct!

Image

ImageWe also found a traditional restaurant in this area, it was simply amazing!!

ImageImage

In the last day I had a bit of time to visit Tokyo again. I went to visit another Shrine. It was beautiful and I was lucky since there was a fall festival with traditional music. At this Shrine you could write a wish on small woodden tablets, which are then put under a tree. I wrote down my wish and as I was placing it under the tree I saw the wish of the person before me, which was asking for a baby this year. It made me cry. But it was good to see I was not alone. Image

Finally I walked around some crazy areas of Tokyo, with people dressed in the weirdest ways and lots of lights, noise, screens with funny videos. Such an incredible place!

Image

This trip was really good. It was fun to discover stuff about the Japanese culture, to try and communicate to people who do not speak your language, to get lost, find my way, be surprised. Travelling is the one thing that makes me feel happy. If I’m still childless in ten years, I should just run away and spend the rest of my life travelling!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My trip to Japan

  1. Stina says:

    oooo, love the pictures! 🙂

  2. damelapin says:

    Gorgeous pic ! That´s what I’ve told hubby: if wére not pregnant with the 4 ivf, let´s do a trip around the world!

  3. Sadie says:

    Wonderful pictures! I’m glad you got out and were able to enjoy some of the sights despite being there for work. That story about the shrine is so touching…

    Travel is one of the things that also makes me happiest, and I’ve always been fascinated by Japan!

  4. redbluebird says:

    Beautiful pictures! I’m glad you were able to do more than work on this trip. I would love to go to Japan– Tokyo’s lights are a little intimidating to me though!

  5. newtoivf says:

    Glad you had a good time, love the pictures it looks amazing x

  6. Little Wife says:

    Your pics remind me how much I love Japan. My husband and I want to go back there!

  7. E v e l y n says:

    The pictures are great. I particularly love the one with the 2 bikes. Amazing about the other wish. I wonder if the person who wrote it is also suffering.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thanks! I do think the other person with the wish was also suffering. But it could also be me reading what I want to read. In any case, in the middle of lots of wishes written in Japanese I ended up next to one in English and about baby making..

Leave a Reply

