New endocrinologist

A couple of months ago I called this new endocrinologist to ask for an appointment.  The first date available was at the end of January. Luckily someone cancelled so I went yesterday!

She is really nice and explained things very clearly. She will also talk about things directly to my gynecologist, which is an advantage. Going to see her also made me feel a tiny bit more enthusiastic about trying IVF again next year.

Here is what came out of the appointment:
– Since I have both PCOS and hypothyroidism, I need to make sure that if I ever get pregnant, the moment I see a positive I also need to increase the doses of the thyroid drugs. She explained that this is often a cause of early miscarriages.
– She said she’ll check my immunology results and see if we need to change the treatments post transfer.
– I’ll have to do a test to check my insulin resistance. If I am insulin resistant,  she will talk to the gynecologist about metformin, which the gynecologist didn’t want to prescribe because of the heavy side effects.
– She also gave me food suggestions, without prescribing a proper diet. In a nutshell I have a total veto for sugary stuff (cookies, candies, chocolate, sugar in coffee, sodas, …), I need to have some carbs every day in moderate quantities, tiny bit of fat every day (e.g. a spoon of oil), some milk products and a maximum of two portions of fruit per day. This last restrictions is a bit hard. I love fruit! All this in 3 meals + 2 snacks a day.

I’m still confused about the carbs. I know “brown carbs” are better but I was told I should still have pasta, rice or potatoes. I thought I was meant to cut them out but she explained that some are needed, especially for the purpose of TTC. Some sugars are needed and fast ones, like chocolate, are bad as they make your sugar level spike. Carbs are better sugars since they avoid the ups and downs.

I also haven’t fully understood what I should eat more exactly. Like, what’s a good snack if I can’t eat too much fruit?

I think I need to do some more research on PCOS diets. And I feel there may be a difference in a PCOS diet to lose weight and for TTC.

Anyone has any suggestions? Especially on stuff I can read?

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New endocrinologist

  1. Elisha says:

    There is a HUGE difference in PCOS diet and TTC diet 🙂 I have PCOS and I’m not on a “diet” but I do watch how much sugary foods and simple carbs I consume. Complex carbs are good. When I was following a strict PCOS diet I liked the book “How to Make a Baby” and “The Insulin Resistance Diet” book. That was a REALLY good book on how to teach you what to eat. Saying prayers for you 🙂

  2. allison2206 says:

    Snack ideas: carrot sticks and hummus, Brown ricecakes and almond butter… I’ve found many good books on PCOS diet on Amazon

  3. Caroline says:

    Sounds like this went well! Keep us updated.

  4. Joanna Schwartz says:

    What did she say about meat? This diet sounds like mine, I suggest the Moosewood cookbooks!
    Especially Moosewood Restaurant, Low fat favorites. I use it constantly.

    Brown carbs= whole wheat pasta, brown rice, etc.. Not sure what she told you about other whole grains but you can cook with millet, barley, quinoa, most of them can be simply boiled like you would do with rice… Does she want you to eat traditional carbs too? Can also experiment with sautéing these grains with different herbs and oils (rosemary, thyme, etc.)

    When you want something sweet but want to watch your sugar… Take peanut or almond butter, and can combine with uncooked rolled oats, throw on some cinnamon and coconut flakes and add in ripe mashed bananas. Add raisins if you want or a chocolate chip. A delicious unbaked cookie…

    • kiftsgate says:

      No. She didnt say anything about meat or other things. Though I’m quite sure e.g. it’s better to limit red meat. I think I am meant to eat normal carbs too, not just brown. That’s the novelty. Thanks for the suggestions. I have no idea where to find almond butter but I’ll try to find it because it sounds yummy. I cant have raisins and can only have bananas in small quantities.
      I think I should ask her to be clearer next time I see her..
      Big hug. Btw why are you on a diet? Hope its not to lose weight because you are perfect! Big hug! xxx

  5. E v e l y n says:

    The new doctor sounds promissing. These diets are all confusing.

    I’ve done quite well recently cutting sugar. If I can do it so can you. I’m rooting you on. This isn’t easy. I may be imagining it but I’m less hungry and many other foods taste different and better.

  6. jesselyn6585 says:

    Sending you an email of the diet I was given. 🙂

  7. Joanna Schwartz says:

    I agree with Evelyn, when she said that if she can cut sugar, so can you. I am doing it as well and it is the single biggest improvement in my mood and health that I have ever seen. The key though is to go slow. I think that if you normally put 1 tsp of sugar in your tea/coffee, try putting 3/4 of a tsp for two weeks or a month, then cut a little bit more until you get to the point where you are drinking the beverage without sugar…
    Also, if you must eat something sugary, you can soften the effects by eating a whole grain or a vegetable afterwards, smaller spike in sugar…
    Not on a diet. A friend told me 3 years ago when I had an unexplained sinus infection that insulin controls all the hormones in the body so I eat a high veggie diet and “try” to stay away from sweets and any kind of white bread or rice. Try is the important word here 🙂

    • kiftsgate says:

      I agree cutting sugar is great for my mood! I am actually quite advanced in the non-sugar world, since I’ve been increasingly trying since we started with IVF. I have no sugar in hot drinks, no sugary drinks (e.g. sodas), I hardly have any sweets, I eat any very little pasta, potatoes, bread or white rice (except basmati at times).
      The big next step now is: fruit to be reduced and yogurts to be turned into Greek or no sugar ones (I don’t like either but I started this yesterday and it’s not too bad).
      What I find confusing is that I was told I should have some carbs. So I’m trying to figure out how to balance things out. It’s a bit more complicated than just cutting pasta and rice. I need to have some carbs but not too many and sometimes veggies count as carbs, e.g. cooked carrots.
      I’m still a bit lost but got a lot of help (jesselys sent me her diet which was really helpful, and a friend who has diabetes explained lots) so I’m feeling better about this. As you said I need to take it slow, so I’m cutting a few things before XMas and then from January on I’ll do the rest. 🙂

  8. Joanna Schwartz says:

    Food is medicine, man! 🙂 Glad you’re with me on the low sugar train.
    Sounds like you’re doing great!

  9. Pingback: IVF # 4, here we go! | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

