Endometrial biopsy

After over a month of treatments, I have finally had my endometrial biopsy. I find treatments for mock cycles quite annoying so now that its over I am really happy I can finally take a break from drugs! Progesterone just makes me so tired… The biopsy is not too bad; certainly not pleasant but it’s not worse than other exams.

I don’t know how things work in other countries but here when you go for a test of this sort you are given the tissue that was taken and you have to go send it to the lab yourself. I don’t understand this system. For me it’s totally crazy! So anyway, I did go to the post office to send this little piece of me to be analysed, hoping that it’s carrying good news or at least answers.

The purpose of this biopsy is to decide if I need an endo scratch before the next IVF round. The lab will check whether I have too many or too few immune cells. Too many cells can be an obstacle for the embryos to implant, so a scratch can be done to help implantation. Otherwise the normal way is better.

I have a long wait for the results which won’t arrive arrive before end of January. So I guess I’ll just have to focus on enjoying a break for now! 

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Endometrial biopsy

  1. Elisha says:

    say what?!? You have to mail it yourself? I agree with you…that is a bit strange :/

    • kiftsgate says:

      yup. plus I’m a bit nervous: the packages will be delivered on Mon but it’s stuff that’s meant to be stored in the fridge. Right now I’m happy that it’s winter and super cold!

  2. redbluebird says:

    I’m not sure if that’s the way it’s done here, but how strange to mail out your own tissue! I’d think it would need some special packaging?
    Anyway, sorry it takes so long to get the results back. I hope you enjoy your break, and enjoy the holidays!

    • kiftsgate says:

      It is weird! At the mail the lady was like “what’s inside? is it valuable?”. I said no, but it’s somehow more valuable than more expensive things…
      Hope you enjoy the holidays too! xx

  3. jesselyn6585 says:

    So you have to mail it out yourself? That’s weird! I’d be so nervous. And that’s one heck of a delay for results. Holy stressful!

    I’m glad it’s over though. Now you can relax and enjoy the holiday season. Sending you love, warmth, and patience.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thank you! Right now I think patience is lacking but holidays will help.
      Hope you have a very happy holiday season too and that everything will carry on going great! 🙂
      xx

  4. This is SO cool! I sure wish I knew how many NK (natural killer cells) were in my lining, because it would help me decide whether or not this medication (Remicade) that I’m taking is overly suppressing my NK cells and hurting conception. I’m just a nerd and I love data–the more data the better! XO

  5. Lisette says:

    I can’t believe you had to post that thing in! That’s madness! I didn’t have to do that, they just called me a month later with the results. I’m glad it wasn’t too painful for you, mine was excruciating. Really keen to see what your results are. Being on prednisolone isn’t very nice but knowing it might help is reassuring. Enjoy the downtime hun, thinking of you xx

    • kiftsgate says:

      I actually think it’s pretty common to post tissue in here. I think my hubby posted some tissue to check a mole. Like, you may be posting part of your own cancerous cells…
      Sorry you had a really painful biopsy.. it’s never cool to feel that much pain. I think after my first two egg retrievals on OHSS and with only local anesthesia I have become less sensitive to pain. But don’t wish that to anyone..
      I’ll do my best to enjoy the downtime and relax a bit. For the moment I’m failing. All I can think of is “what can I do in the month of January to help??”. And I know the answer is relax and think of something else but I find that much harder than running to doctor’s appointments… Big hug! xx

  6. E v e l y n says:

    I hope the results are positive or at least something that suggests an easy treatment.

    I had to send my tissue for one of my tests too. I found it strange that it was going Fed Ex but then I guess I never really thought about how else it would get to its destination and Fed Ex is proven and reliable.

    Anyway, good luck.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Ah yes, I remember you had sent it through Fed Ex. I think it’s just a matter of habits. Here everyone sends tissues for exams through mail (you have it done at the doctor’s and then send it to the lab) but in my home country you would have everything done in hospital/clinic/lab so that you don’t have to send anything.
      Thank you! Luck much needed…

  7. I just had one this weekend, and I had to mail it myself too! 😀

Leave a Reply

