Last meeting with the adoption psychologist!

After a really bad day on Saturday I have been trying to pull myself together. My main motivation was to be in decent shape for today’s meeting with the psychologist for adoption.

This meeting was to talk about us. My husband gave a very touching and honest description about himself, his childhood, the loss of his mum when he was a child, growing up with a dad who was not very communicative and quite cold, etc.. I loved that he just opened up instead of pretending he had a perfect family. We had both done this before in the individual meetings with the pedopsychiatrist and social assistant but this time we were both there and it was nice to hear what he said.

Since this was the last meeting with the psychologist, she concluded with telling us she will write a positive report on us (yey!!), that she appreciated how we and our project evolved since the start and that she likes that we can put ourselves at the place of the child. It was such a relief to hear this!!

We are now left with one last meeting in January: the home visit with the social assistant. I have been wondering whether I should bake cookies or not. I have three options:

  1. just offer tea/coffee/juice/…
  2. also bring some cookies with the drinks
  3. actually bake the cookies.

I talked to a few friends and they mostly think baking will look like I’m trying too hard, so I think I’ll go for option 2. What do you think? Anyone had home visits for adoption before?

This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Last meeting with the adoption psychologist!

  1. Elisha says:

    I have no advice…but I always like homemade 🙂

  2. damelapin says:

    Great news! For the visit, just hide Joey 😉 (regarding the Friends episode with the home visit^^)

  3. jesselyn6585 says:

    I’m so excited that this all went well! I honestly would bake the cookies but I have no experience in this department. I personally don’t think it’s a bad thing to “try too hard.” It shows that you’re serious about this and want it to go well.

  4. ecila69 says:

    From my own experience, as French from France, for the social workers’ visit we offered coffe, tea, orange jus and we bought some Mignardises (bite-sized pasteries) from our bakery nearby. Actually it was what I could have done for anyone who came to visit my place and had a serious talk… but it’s our way of living. And at this time period, I didn’t have time to bake anything but the homemade cookies are never too much.
    Seriously you are not the firsts who want to make good impression and if for the rest of the visit you are not “too much”, the cookies will be certainly very appreciated. Just be yourself, trust your instinct.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thank you! Great to hear the opinion of a French in France! I think I get a bit paranoid about cultural differences sometimes. What is normal for me is not necessarily normal for the French. Like the other day, I asked our banker what she had done as studies to become a banker. It was really out of curiosity and to better understand but my hubby was so ashamed and told me off afterwards..
      So thanks for the advice!
      I am sick at home and will spend a bit of time on your blog. I love the descriptions of the movies!

  5. That is awesome news! Yay for positive reports and the process moving forward. I definitely can empathize with trying to navigate the maze of cultural differences. I would say if you like to bake often and baking the cookies is not going to be an added stress why not. Ecila69 mignardise idea also seems like a good, easy, and safe bet.

  6. Joanna Schwartz says:

    What? Why is it out of place to ask about one’s studies? You were just curious! The American point of view, especially Americans from my part of the country would concur. Weird!

    I am totally in favor of you baking cookies. Also, maybe lighting a candle and having books around (I’m sure you already have this). When I was doing social work and visited homes however I wasn’t so interested in assessing the house per say but was more focused on how the people living there related to each other. Maybe take the extra time you would use to make your house seem perfect and do something that will make you feel centered and peaceful (painting, drinking a hot cup of tea slowly, listening to classical music, etc…

  7. Joanna Schwartz says:

    That way when the inspector (ha, ha) arrives, they will feel lots of beauty and peace coming from YOU and won’t even notice if there’s a sock lying on the floor 😉

    • kiftsgate says:

      ahahah! Good suggestion. I do think they come here more to get a feeling about us than to check cleaning or other things. I’m not too worried: our flat is who we are and I don’t want to try and pretend we are anyone else. There’s books and candles around. And pictures, and all our stuff, including the beautiful frame you made for us. 🙂
      You’re right: taking the time to breathe and feel good will definitely help more than a rushed tidying up.

  8. flhope says:

    Coucou! On avait rien fait! J’avais peur de trop en faire…mais c’est maintenant que je me dis que j’aurais dû! On a même failli oublier de lui servir un café tellement on discutait 😉
    En tout cas c’est toi qui doit te sentir à l’aise, alors fait comme tu as envie! (ne lui parle pas de ces études 🙂 )
    Bonne route miss!

  9. Pingback: Last adoption meeting!!! | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

