New year, new challenges

As the clocked marked the end of 2013 I was happy to see a really tough year finish, happy to turn the page, and to hope more.

But just now I read what I had written at the end of 2012, and it was seriously quite depressing! So I realized that 2013 was bad but not as bad as 2012. 2013 had a very bad start but somehow I managed to pull myself together a bit and to face some challenges. I have improved eating habits, done a lot more sport, lost weight, tried to be more sociable and active, and become a lot more accepting of my childlessness in a world where everyone else is progressing. I have gone through yet another IVF failure, my first FET and a chemical pregnancy, which is sadly the most pregnant I have ever been. I have been awfully upset but also managed to find some time to smile, have fun, sing, dance, feel well and re-discover some pleasures in life. I did not do much of that in 2012.

But I’m happy to turn the page. I’m happy to have started this new year in a magic city, with a smile on my face and in the arms of the love of my life. I’m starting this year feeling better than the last. Not because I think IVF will work, but simply because I am better.

There are many things that I can improve this year. So, I’m happy to join Jenn and other ladies in the Get Healthy Challenge 2014. It’ll make me feel less lonely to get healthier with company.

Here are my goals for this year.

  • Mental health: I have been too stressed and running too much last year. I really need to be calmer and go slower this year. I need to take better care of myself and of my husband, taking time for myself and for us. I also need to find a better balance and try not to fall in phases of despair, anger or stress. Meditating more may help with all this, but also more walks and more time in nature. 
  • Social life: The motto for this year shall be “me first”. I will try to be sociable but without accepting all requests because I feel bad or because I feel I have to, and I will put myself and my husband before other people. As much as I love my friends I do need to protect myself from overemotional or overcomplicated situations.
  • Physical health: I will try to stick to the low GI diet, avoiding sugars, eating more veggies, improving my recipes, and doing sports. But I’d like to add some more soft sports like pilates and yoga. I think it will help to relax. I may also follow Fertility Doll and go back to tango. It will be hard at first since I haven’t been in ages but dancing has always helped my mood and well being.

So, lots of stuff to improve, but, above all, I want to take it easy. 

Wish you all the best for this new year!!

Go #team2014!!

Image

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New year, new challenges

  1. Little Wife says:

    Prems ! I’m happy to wish you all the best for 2014 !
    Congrat’s for your goals, I should do more sport too…

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thanks! Not easy to do lots of sport when you spend lots of time in transport and working. But I’m thinking to find stuff like biking back home or walking for a long bit…

  2. Lisette says:

    Yay! Great post hun! Loving the approach! Go #team2014!!! xx

  3. Caroline says:

    love it girl! Check out my blog where I am talking about another aspect of health that it is important to focus on:)

  4. damelapin says:

    Happy new year to you! 2014 will rock!

  5. Sadie says:

    It’s funny to read that you say you’ve watched while everyone else is progressing, because, well, just LOOK HOW FAR YOU’VE COME!!! Well done you🙂 May 2014 be full of magic and good things for you.

  6. NotSoNewtoIVF says:

    Good to hear from you lovely and to hear you being so positive! I think these all sound like great ideas, especially the yoga. I can’t handle life without it, it chills me out so much xx

  7. You’re goes are perfect🙂 I particularly like the social life goal… I do the same thing too and need to start worrying about me.

    • kiftsgate says:

      🙂
      When I was in school and got upset about problems with friends or other things of the sort, my mum used to ask me: who is the most important person for you? I would say mum, but she said: no, its you! I better remember that a bit more..

  8. jesselyn6585 says:

    These sound like awesome goals Dear. Me personally, I’m a huge advocate of yoga. It is great for the mind, body, and soul. I love it. It makes me feel human when nothing else can. I’m so excited to see how much better 2014 will be for you than 2012 or 2013.

  9. E v e l y n says:

    I wonder if 2012 was harder than 2013 or if you got stronger. Regardless, this post is a great start to 2014.

    I love your goals by the way.

Leave a Reply

