Pregnancy and baby complaints (not mine, of course..)

When I started TTC, I only had one friend who had a baby. Now I only have a few left who do not have babies. So, I’ve had time to go through lots of friend’s pregnancies and baby arrivals. Which is not always easy, since it is often a reminder of my failures.

One thing that makes it harder is to hear friends complain about the one thing I want the most in my life. And I hear LOTS of complaints: “It sucks that I can’t smoke”, “I can’t even drink at my 30th birthday party”, “my feet are so swollen I can’t wear shoes anymore”, “I’m fat”, “this baby needs me all the time”, “I haven’t been to the hairdresser in ages”, “my boobs are too big and annoy me”, “I haven’t slept in ages”, “I can only sleep on one side”, “I’m tired”, “I look awful”, etc.

Sometimes these complaints really piss me off, like I have no tolerance for complaints about cigarettes and alcohol. I also get really annoyed by comments like “I’m fat” when you can see they are said just to get compliments.

But I am still happy when I am treated like a normal person and being infertile has not made me completely insensitive to pregnancy and baby problems. I could actually really feel for a friend the other day. She has a beautiful family with a recent new addition. I do think she’s very lucky but I also know it’s a lot of work. I also know that when she says she’s tired or that she feels fat or not sexy, it’s because she’s struggling or having a bad day and not just to get compliments. I’m happy to be there for that.

It’s also much easier to be there for someone who has been there for me. Once I opened up to a friend about my infertility issues and the only response I got was “Sorry, got to go make dinner for the baby”. I never got any questions or messages after that. So I wasn’t too sympathetic when after baby N. 2 she complained about not even having time to go on facebook. Similarly, it’s easier to be there for people I love, and harder for people like colleagues who I don’t really care about.

But sometimes things can be hard, no matter how much I care about a friend. A friend, who is now about 7 month pregnant, has been seriously depressed about being pregnant. She has called me a lot to get support and I was happy to be there but it has been really hard at times. Once she said that if it carried on being this bad she would ask for an abortion even if it was already 4 months. That was not easy to hear, even if I knew she wouldn’t do it. Another time, after days of complaints on how sick she felt, she finally sounded happy to have found a massage lady who worked exclusively with pregnant women. I was happy for her until she suggested I should go see this lady too (failed to notice I am not pregnant??). And after my last failed transfer she told me she understood my pain because she was struggling with her pregnancy. I had to focus real hard to see the connection.

Hearing all these complaints and having all these discussions has certainly helped me realise one thing: we all have different lives and we can support friends without fully understanding them or having gone through the same experiences. They cannot understand my pain after an IVF cycle, or my anxiety before an adoption meeting, but they can feel it, be with me and support me. I cannot fully understand their worries and challenges, but I can see when something is wrong and be there for them. What I cannot do is to provide support for fake problems or listen to silly complaints on e.g. fags and booze, but as it turns out my good friends are smart enough to not have a problem with this (or at least to avoid talking to me about it…).

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pregnancy and baby complaints (not mine, of course..)

  1. Kitten says:

    I “liked” your post because of that last part. It’s so important, yet so difficult, to know how and when you can or cannot give support to a pregnant friend. We can only hope that THEY also realize what things are appropriate to bring to you, and which things they should just keep amongst fellow fertiles.

  2. People who take their fertility/children for granted upset me all the time. I wrote a bit about it on my blog too. Some people are so self-centred that they don’t even begin to think of others’ feelings, leaving us infertiles, already mentally fragile through our experiences, bite our tongues, support them, or tip-toe around them to make them comfortable instead of them attempting to make us comfortable, especially when it comes to their fake problems.

    • kiftsgate says:

      I couldn’t agree more. I can’t take pregnancy prima donnas and their complaints. It’s also true I end up trying to do my best to try and make friends comfortable. Some of them do too, but it’s rare.
      I had a quick look at your blog. I’m sorry for all you’ve gone through, it’s one incredible story. And you must be a very strong person. I really wish you all the best.

  3. ecila69 says:

    It’s “funny” but I just experienced myself very recently same kind of experiences : people who just “forget” or don’t want or can’t remember “our situation” and finally just don’t give a shhhhh! We agreed it’s not in purpose but it’s still hurting and I just decide for the moment not to deal with them until I feel really confortable with all that. Some of us are propably some kind of superheros to act like it’s ok but I am clearly not ! Courage!

  4. E v e l y n says:

    I’ve said insensitive things in the past too, but I really think people need to think a bit more before they speak. Goodness, how can someone having a difficult pregnancy understand what it’s like to suffer from infertility?

    • kiftsgate says:

      I’m sure I have said insensitive things too. But I also think I have learnt to be more tactful with time so it doesn’t happen so often anymore. I do think a lot more before I speak..
      The link between the pregnancy (which was not difficult at all in medical terms) and infertility is that both differ from the dream of what it should be like: get pregnant, enjoy pregnancy, have a baby. I do think it’s a bit of a stretch since the baby at the end makes all the difference…

  5. jesselyn6585 says:

    I agree. it kills me when people complain about pregnancy symptoms or about everything they’re missing out on. They have to know that there are women who would give anything to be able to feel the “agony” of morning sickness or whathaveyou. I’m so glad that you have a few genuine friends thoguh! Sending you lots of love!

Leave a Reply

