My mailbox and I: adoption report has arrived!

Since the last meeting for the adoption procedure, I have been running to our mail box every evening coming home from work. It almost felt like being a little girl waiting for a birthday present to arrive: “Is it there yet? Is it there yet!?!?”. Running with excitement and then feeling sad about having to wait longer.

The report finally arrived last week! I was alone when I got it and waited for my husband to get home to read it. We didn’t know what to expect and we both read while holding our breath. There were three reports: one for each professional we met (the social assistant, the psychologist and the pedopsychiatrist). I won’t keep any suspense: all are positive. We are so relieved!

They did such an impressive job in tidying up all we had said in various order. The reports describe us as we were as children, talk about our families, then about us as grown ups and as a couple. They talk about our desire to have children, our struggles, the failed IVF cycles but also about how this journey has made our relationship stronger. I won’t tell you all but I’ll give you my favourite parts:

  • Their (our) desire to have a child is strong, written in a mutual love relationship where the place of an adopted child has been well thought through
  • He (hubby) says he admires his wife for her courage, strength and and persistence (Indeed I can be quite stubborn)
  • She (me) is cuddly (ahahah, really funny to see it written down in the report but very true)
  • Their freshness makes us believe that a child will find all needed in this family to grow up in harmony.

I was so happy and excited when I read all this. I’ve had butterflies in my stomach for excitement for days! It felt pretty much like when we started TTC for the first time: a new beautiful project which is starting to become more and more concrete. We have not yet received the approval (the decision will be taken at the end of the month) but this feels one tiny step closer to our dream.

waiting-mail

This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to My mailbox and I: adoption report has arrived!

  1. Jenn says:

    That’s amazing! And hilarious that you have definitive proof of how cuddly you are lol!

  2. E v e l y n says:

    We always seem to have such anxiety about these things. I’m so glad it was a positive report and even though I only know you through your blog I didn’t expect another other than a positive report. You are always so thoughtful when you write I couldn’t have imagined you to be any other way in real life. Congrats and I feel like I’ll be congratulating you again when you are approved.

    • kiftsgate says:

      I was super stressed about it. Reason being mostly that I know lovely couples who have received negative feedback. I still wonder why..
      Thanks so much for this lovely message and for your support (as always!).

  3. Jen says:

    What wonderful news! I’m so happy for you guys. I loved the highlights from your reports, reading them gave me happy tears for you!

  4. damelapin says:

    *little dance of victory*, not that I had any doubt of another issue😉 well done you!

  5. jesselyn6585 says:

    This makes me so happy! I am so excited for you and your glowing reviews. I love that you were described as cuddly! That’s sweet. *big hug*

  6. redbluebird says:

    Wonderful news! I knew they’d only have great things to say about you!

  7. Congratulations! I am so thrilled that you guys are one step closer, and that you received such a glowing endorsement. They are right: you will be wonderful parents🙂

  8. Lisette says:

    That is such a lovely result hun, I’m so excited for you🙂 xxx

  9. Little Wife says:

    Oh mais ça veut dire quoi cuddly ?
    It is such good news !!! I am soooooo happy for you!!!

  10. Congratulations to the two of you (I mean you and your husband, more so than you and the mailbox ;-)) for this wonderful, well-deserved news! The Madame caline part is great.

  11. lisette84 says:

    What a lovely report🙂 It reassures me for eventual adoption procedure in the future, that they can see that you are cuddly ! Do you intent to adopt in France or elsewhere?

    • kiftsgate says:

      We don’t know yet. For the moment being we’ll leave the two doors open. I have selected a few organisations and countries for international adoption, so we’ll try with those. National adoption is more reassuring and easier, but it’s such a long wait!! Happy to talk about this more if you’re considering adoption (in English or French!).

      • lisette84 says:

        Not yet… In a way, I hope I won’t have to ask myself the question to adopt but it is also a wonderful way to be parent, with its lot of hard moment also… And for the moment it frightens me. Thank’s for your proposition🙂 (sorry for the english…)

  12. Pingback: Final answer from the adoption services: we can adopt! | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

