My lady parts are tense

Yesterday I added one more thing to the list of all I have done to try to get pregnant: I went to see an osteopath who works on internal bits. 

If you do not know what it is, osteopathy is an alternative medicine that takes care of the well functioning of the body as a whole. Osteopaths usually work with manipulations to get to eventually heal the body and make pain go away. Internal osteopathy works in a similar way but with a major difference: the manipulation is in your insides. To be more explicit the osteopath sticks one hand in your vajayjay and touches your tummy with the other (at least this is how it worked for me yesterday). Luckily the angel of a person that is Little Wife had prepared me so I didn’t faint when I was asked to take my knickers off. Not that having one more person look at my lady parts makes much of a difference really…

Now that we got that explanation out of the way, I can go on with the rest. With the hands placed as described and making small movements, the osteopath asked me various questions, mostly on my infertility journey but also more generally on the past and on my relationship with my body. It was basically a very intimate therapy session, which got me thinking a lot about all I have gone through. Sometimes I think I forget that there were a lot of problems even before finding out about infertility

The striking result of this first session is that my lady parts are very tense. While I did not really need osteopathy to realize that, this made me realize that they have been tense for a long while and that may explain a few things about my infertility. 

Will this osteopath manage to relax my insides? I don’t know. But I am ready to go back to find out.

Has anyone done this? What did you think? Did it help?

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My lady parts are tense

  1. carolina647 says:

    I have not done this but please keep us updated. I have never tried this and it looks intriguing.

  2. Kitten says:

    I’ve never had this done, but the IVF and now pregnancy meditations that I’m doing have me visualize and imagine my uterus and ovaries relaxing. I thought that was strange, since I can’t imagine how they can be tense. Maybe meditation is an avenue for you?

    • kiftsgate says:

      I have tried therapy, acupuncture, yoga, hypnosis and meditation. I carry on meditation as it helps me relax. But this was something my acupuncturist recommended so I thought I would give it a try.

  3. E v e l y n says:

    I’m not sure I’d be comfortable with it but then again before I did IVF I wasn’t sure I’d be comfortable doing that either. I think it’s worth a try.

  4. barrenbetty says:

    Wow!!!! You win the award for the most surprising blog post I’ve ever read!!! I can’t believe that is an actual thing. Wow. You definitely need to keep us updated. I think I need to say wow again. Wow.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Haha I’m starting to feel quite embarrassed… I guess I should have thought about that before posting… I just didn’t realise the weirdnes of it since it is quite common in this country.. but then I know what the English think of the Frnchies.. 😉

  5. jesselyn6585 says:

    I haven’t done this. My older sister saw a chiropractor for fertility but I don’t believe the process is the same. What you described sounds fascinating. I hope it helps!

  6. Joanna Schwartz says:

    How wonderful. Sounds promising. Something that has helped me a lot is Eugene Gendlin’s ‘focusing’ techniques. My own body/mind has led me to a lot of learning and healing. Thank you for allowing us to learn along with you. Love to you!

  7. lisette84 says:

    I wanted to… But I am a little bit afraid… And I am not sure it would help in our case… But it is good you tried !!! Congratulations, it seems a little intrusive :S

    • kiftsgate says:

      See, I think it depends case to case. Seen I’m a weird case, I think it makes sense for me. I hope you can get preggo soon without the need to get to this or other weird/painful things!xx

  8. Logan says:

    I’ve heard of this, but never tried it, and am really intrigued! Thank you for sharing… Can’t wait for updates!

  9. Caroline says:

    I don’t know a thing about this, but hope it works for you!!!

  10. Pingback: IVF # 4, here we go! | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

