Little pleasures

Sometimes in my struggles through infertility and childlessness I forget about the all little pleasures life offers. I’ll follow Little Wife‘s lead and give you my list of little pleasures.

  • Dancing around in my knickers while getting ready for work in the morning. My song of the moment is:

  • Calling my mum and dad on my way to work. I know most people think we’re nuts to call each other that often (I also call in the evenings…), but we live far and it makes them happy.
  • A nice cuppa tea (although herbal and no milk). I must have been British in a previous life because I have an abnormal love for tea given my nationality.
  • Little chat breaks with my friends – old and new ones – and with my sister. Sometimes I wonder what people think of me smiling like an idiot in the metro. I’ll give you a highlight chat with my sister in which she had decided to create her kingdom inhabited by cats only. I was allowed in as cat sitter. Don’t ask…

Sis

  • Finding nature, even in a big city: little birds, flowers, trees. Anything that reminds me that there is life around me.
  • A run in the park, especially in a sunny day. I used to hate running. Really hate it. And I was completely unable to run for more than 5 minutes. Now I really like the outdoors exercise and it is one of the few moments where I can be in the park during the week.
  • Meeting up with friends, including the new ones I had the pleasure to transfer from virtual to real life. It’s nice to share experiences and views, and have a laugh.
  • Watching a movie with hubby in the evenings. We snuggle up on the sofa under a blanket like an old couple. He normally wins on the movie choice, so I often catch up with blogs and twitter. But I still love being an old lady next to him.
  • Sheldon Cooper. Never fails to make me laugh!
  • I love when hubby gets back home: he always has a big smile and says to me “hello my sweetheart”. No matter what happened during the day, he always says the same since the first day we moved in together.
  • Finally, the best moment of my day: falling asleep next to my husband at night. I spoon him and he takes my hand. He usually falls asleep before me and I fall asleep to his snoring.

That isn’t a bad list, especially considering I haven’t counted holidays and weekends! I hope I never go back to the state I was at the beginning of this infertility journey when I couldn’t see or do any of this.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Little pleasures

  1. lkgaddis says:

    This is lovely!

  2. I love your list! I should do the same.
    Biz’

  3. Lovely
    Big Bang Pleasures !
    Bises

  4. damelapin says:

    Little pleasures but lot of happiness! We share a love for sheldon cooper😉 he’s pma approved! Xxx

  5. E v e l y n says:

    Not nuts at all to call you folks often. I called my mom from Toronto last night to tell her a pointless story from work that could have waited until I was home.

    I love your sister by the way. If you ever want to share, I’d be happy to take her as an adopted sister or even share her.

    • kiftsgate says:

      I do the same with mum. I like sharing stories with her. It feels like she’s less far.. I think you’d get along really well with my sister. But I may still keep her😛

  6. allison2206 says:

    Not bad at all indeed! I know the infertility journey has for sure made me more positive and confident. It seems weird but in order to survive, you’re “forced” to concentrate on the good things in your life and it has huge benefits. That and a baby, we will have it all😉

  7. Little Wife says:

    I love your little pleasures ! And it may sound weird but I’d really like to live in your sister’s kingdom with a lot of cats !

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thanks! My sister says you can come to her kingdom. I quote:
      “As the rightful and righteous queen, I allow everyone who wishes to enter my kingdom as long as they are accompanied by a lovely, furry friend”
      So anytime you want…🙂
      xx

  8. monpetitoeuf says:

    I love all your litt le pleasures ! Especially the call to your parents. … i call my Mother twice a day hihihihi !!! Kisss

  9. Isabelle says:

    Love those little pleasures… they make life so much easier and better.🙂

Leave a Reply

