IVF bubble

Ladies and gentlemen… I have finally started stimming for IVF#4!! Yuppy!! I’m also 5 days into treatments and have not had to cancel the cycle (yet?). Yey!!

Everything is ok so far but it has not been easy (when is it ever easy??!). After loads of efforts to be in good shape for IVF,  I started stims feeling like crap due to the pre-treatment I take to get my period. I had horrible headaches and felt like I was coming up with a bad cold. The first days of stimms I have also felt quite sick, mostly feeling dizzy and drowsy. Just as I started feeling better, swelling and tummy pain started, giving me a bit of an OHSS scare. I have also been worried since I got double doses compared to IVF#3. Last time I had 150 of Gonal-F I had to cancel the cycle. But the new gynecologist is checking on me quite often and giving me additional drugs to prevent OHSS. Among these I had my first injections of Orgalutran, which of course gave me a localised allergic reaction. Apparently it is quite common and I shouldn’t worry. I wish I had read that before having a panic attack..

Do you not wish you could just be in a bubble during IVF? I really feel like I don’t need anything other than what I already have to handle (work, jabs, appointments, healthy eating and cooking…). Yet, it seems that the universe doesn’t agree with my wish for isolation. Here is a bunch of things I would have preferred to skip:

  • A colleague – who knows of our troubles – just came back from maternity leave and spent lunch break telling us how sad and tired she is. The tiny bit of sympathy I had vanished when she said the baby actually slept all night and that she was tired as missing time for herself.
  • Someone I haven’t seen in over 10 years emailed to catch up and asked: “how many kids do you have?”.
  • A girl I hardly know from the support group I used to go to emailed after two years of no news (in which she had her now one-year old). She has started treatments for FET and explained that it is much harder to do FETs after having a baby as they waited so long to use the frosties. I think she’s looking for exchange and support but I’m not the right person at the moment..
  • My friends, who know I’m in the middle of treatments, suddenly need help with all sort of things from baby christening to job applications.

I guess it’s just life that goes on while I wish it could be on hold for everyone and not just for me…  

Luckily, I also have some friends who lighten up my days and make it easier to go through treatments. Over the week-end I went for a lovely walk with some friends who came to visit. I also went to an amazing photography exhibition with friends from Uni (the picture you see is one of the ones I liked the most). And last, but certainly not least, I met our lovely Little Wife for a really nice afternoon tea break.

Maybe I don’t really need to be in a bubble… what do you think? do you feel in an IVF bubble?

Image

 

(Photy by Henri Cartier Bresson)

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to IVF bubble

  1. barrenbetty says:

    I’m glad it’s all going okay still so far! That’s good progress! I definitely agree with wanting to be in an IVF bubble and just avoid the world for a bit. Actually, I’d quite like to just generally retreat into an IF bubble and resurface when it’s all over!! I hope you aren’t too uncomfortable today. I’ve got my fingers well and truly crossed for you for this cycle xxx

    • kiftsgate says:

      Yes it would be even better to wake up and be in the middle of a serene healthy pregnancy! Preferably going back to age 29 or 30 and realising all this was a silly nightmare! 🙂
      Thanks a lot lovely for all the support!! xx

  2. Isabelle says:

    Lovely photo. Sorry you haven’t been feeling well. It’s the worst when mothers complain… in front of those who have had trouble conceiving. All I sometimes hear is ungratefulness, although I am sure their concerns and issues are legitimate… it’s just tough to be in the position to be any more sympathetic than we are. Let me think back to my IVF cycles… I actually welcomed all the distractions from people… so I didn’t have to think too much about the process and the outcome. I am hoping that this is it for you!!

  3. carolina647 says:

    When you are going through IVF, you should totally get a pass. Infertility has hampered some of my relationships but for me it was necessary.

  4. I can’t speak to IVF, but want to encourage you to be as self-centered as you need! XO

  5. Lisette says:

    I wouldn’t really like a bubble but in fact, I stay a lot at home with my husband during the treatment. I need to be selfish, to concentrate on what we are hoping… Grrrr in english it is hard for me to explain but I cross fingers for you 🙂

  6. Prioritise you and tell them you’re unavailable. You’re growing lots of eggs woman! You need you time right now. The world can wait. I’ve forced the world to wait but really probably a good thing as I’d be falling asleep on the world anyway. Plus I’m on a tiny amount of drugs and I feel wiped, can only imagine how you’re feeling! I’m pro-IVF-bubble, I made a list of all the things I want to do right now for me.. now if only I could stay awake to make them happen.

    • kiftsgate says:

      If only we could drink proper tea! It’d be easier to stay awake.. You are very right. And I’m starting to be so tired and in pain that I really just need to take care of myself this week. I hope you can get a good night sleep and feel better tomorrow. xx

  7. bebepaulo says:

    I am totally in a bubble! Even when I am social it seems like all I talk about is IVF. I think it’s boring-or crazy- to other people so it seems easier to limit my interactions to the hubs.

  8. My Journey says:

    If only I could quit my job and just focus on this IVF stuff. I feel like I’m not giving my all at work lately, just too much on my mind and the med side-effects are really taking their toll.

  9. You are the most important right now. Your husband too. Others can wait, not you, not your, I hope, marvellous IVF 😉
    Kiss

  10. allison2206 says:

    I’m not there yet but I’m sure I’ll want to be in a bubble in a few weeks! The priority now is to take care of yourself, happy bubbling 🙂 … and fingers crossed of course!

  11. Smile says:

    A definite YES to the IVF bubble, I would like to put in an order for one as well. You work to prioritize yourself and this process as much as you can, if people have to wait for shit or figure out how to do it themselves than so be it 🙂

Leave a Reply

