Finally the results of the egg biopsy!

Do you know the trick of putting eggs in a glass of water to check if they are good? If they float they are bad, if they go to the bottom they are good! I only discovered it recently… Well, that’s kind of what happened to my eggs. Just a tiny bit more elaborate..

After egg retrieval some of the cells around the 16 mature eggs have been taken and sent to a special lab. The lab analysed the cells relative to the 6 fertilised eggs. The quality of the eggs is established in a range from 0 to 100. My eggs got scores in a range between 40 and 70. I do not have the details of how many eggs got 40 or 70 and so on, but the results seem alright. If I were a dramatic case I would have had all eggs with a score below 25. That’s reassuring though the gynecologist did say that those that got 40 are much less likely to become a baby.

There was one big surprise for me. When I got the results there was something weird. It said we had 6 fertilised eggs and 8 frozen embryos. I assumed it was a typo: you can’t get embryos without eggs. But it wasn’t! After fertilisation they moved the 6 fertilised eggs (not sure where) but kept the remaining ones a while longer to see what happened. Two of the remaining 10 eggs were a bit slower but actually ended up getting fertilised and even became blasts. So I have 3 2-cell embryos frozen at day 2, 3 4-cell embryos frozen at day 2 and 2 blasts frozen at day 5. We have never had blasts before!!! It’s a hell of a lot of embryos!

I will start treatments tonight in preparation of the transfer and I will get two of the day 2 embryos transferred, starting from the ones with higher score.  I know day 2 embryos are not so likely going to survive but there must be a good one!!! Please Universe, let there be one good healthy sticker!!!

 
This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Finally the results of the egg biopsy!

  1. This is AMAZING news!!! Yay!!!! Looking forward to you being PUPO. x

  2. barrenbetty says:

    Argh! Wowzers!!! That’s amazing! I’ve been wondering how you got on all day. Yippee, I’m so glad it was good news. Bring on the FET🙂 xxx

  3. Dani says:

    Great news!! I’ll be thinking of you and waiting for an update.

    Heart,
    Dani

  4. damelapin says:

    wow, great news!!!!

  5. That’s so !!!!!! Please Universe, please Universe !

  6. I can’t believe this… This is so awesome!

    All the best for the next step… We’re totally in your corner! xxx

  7. Tales of a Twin Mombie says:

    YAY!

  8. I am very impressed by the number of embryos you got.😉 Congrats!!

  9. Little Wife says:

    Whaaaaaat ? Two blasts ??? Wonderfull ! You didn’t told me ! What a great news !❤

    • kiftsgate says:

      whoops. can’t believe i forgot such a massive detail.. I’m all over the place right now.. also last night I was very excited about my secret shopping that you know of but that i dont want to talk about here just yet😉

  10. chels819 says:

    What FANTASTIC news!!! I always love when we are surprised like that – what a beautiful set of little babies you have there already! Excited for what’s to come and praying for continued great news!

  11. Stefanie says:

    Sending lots of prayers your way!

  12. Holly E says:

    WOOT!!! That’s lots and lots!! I’m so glad things are going well!!! Good luck!

  13. Smile says:

    Yay yay yay for good eggs! Congrats on prepping for transfer, have everything crossed that this is it for you.

  14. Fantastic!! Getting blasts is a huge deal. So happy for you! xoxo

  15. NotSoNewtoIVF says:

    Such brill news lovely, I don’t pretend to understand this. …They do it so differently in France but it all sounds fantastic xx

    • kiftsgate says:

      I don’t understand it either. and this man is not so good at communicating… this is all very different from old clinic.. thinking of you! xx

  16. Wow! Fantastic news! You don’t get news like that every day in IVF. I hope you two were able to celebrate a bit and am sending you lots of energy and support for your FET. xoxo

    • kiftsgate says:

      No, actually I don’t think I have ever heard something like this before! I don’t even know why the doc didn’t tell me earlier.. whatever, as long as it’s news of this sort…
      Thanks a lot for the support!! xx

  17. E v e l y n says:

    Awesome to get a couple extras at the end of it. And extra awesome that they made it to blasts.

  18. Lisette says:

    Holy crap it all sounds fantastic!!!! I’m so excited for you!! Can’t wait for the next step. Huge hugs babe xxx

  19. redbluebird says:

    That’s such great news! And very interesting about the scoring of the eggs– I hadn’t heard of that before. I hope, hope, hope this is IT for you!🙂

  20. Pingback: Two embies on board! | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

