A dream comes true!

No miracle pregnancy or adoption phone calls…. but I have just received the best present ever!!! I can’t even believe it yet! After dreaming about it for over 30 years, I finally have a kitten!!!

When I was still living at home with my parents, I never managed to convince my mum. Then I went abroad and I was travelling and moving around too much. Then I couldn’t convince my husband… but he finally gave in and here I am with a little ball of fur!!

Yes, I am that lady who adopted a cat because she couldn’t have kids. I know everyone (at least at work) thinks that of me. It’s true. But I don’t care because I already love my fur baby!! She is super cute, very energetic and cuddly. I’m seriously in love!

I can only laugh at myself for how much I stressed out in preparation to welcome her at home. It’s true I only had a couple of days to buy everything and I don’t know what to do with a kitten since I’ve never had one. But I spent hours at the pet store and stressed a lot. It makes me wonder what I’d be like if we ever managed to adopt a baby. I still have plenty of time to worry about that.. for now I’ll enjoy my kitty!!

ImageImage

This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to A dream comes true!

  1. damelapin says:

    Aaah she’s gorgeous!!! I also want one, lucky you! Drown yourself in cuddles 😉

  2. Lisette says:

    Ahhhhh so adorable!!! Yippee! I love cats! xx

  3. NotSoNewtoIVF says:

    Ahh..I have never really been a lover of animals and never wanted one but DH is so desperate for a kitten and I have up admit the idea of having something small to love is getting more appealing!! Xx

    • kiftsgate says:

      I love all animals but I’m a huge fan of cats! But there’s a big difference between seeing animals in natures and having one at home.. I hope I’ll manage alright. I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

  4. My kitty and I mutually worship one another. I’m SO excited for you! My best suggestions are: keep her indoors (she’ll live longer), feed quality food, don’t de-claw, get a scratching post she can climb, and treat her like a baby! XO

  5. barrenbetty says:

    Ahh I love this!!!! She is soooo cute. I’m so jealous! My whole family is allergic to fur otherwise my house would be full of cats and dogs. Aww, so looks so tiny xxx

    • kiftsgate says:

      She is super cute and really tiny!!! she’s hyper active too though..it’s a pity for the allergies.. my husband made up he was allergic a while ago but it was clearly made up so he gave in 😉
      xx

  6. allison2206 says:

    Wow, she’s adorable! I totally get you, I have two of them and even if they can’t (and shouldn’t) replace a baby, I wouldn’t give them up for anything!

    • kiftsgate says:

      I heard having two is better as they keep each other company but didn’t manage to convince my husband.. i’m very happy I managed to convince him to get one already!! 🙂
      xx

  7. I want to catnap her!! ❤

  8. Little Wife says:

    Oh so cute !!!!! You know how much I love cats, I am super super super happy for you ! Great present !

  9. Ria says:

    Adorable! She looks a little like our Kipling. So sweet! Enjoy your little fur-blessing!

  10. redbluebird says:

    I love her!!! So cute. I can’t handle kittens and puppies, I want them all. I have two dogs and two cats though, and have forced myself to stop there. They bring such happiness to my life, as I’m sure she will to yours.

  11. Isabelle says:

    I’m not an animal person but so happy for you that you got what you have always wanted! She IS cute. 🙂

  12. E v e l y n says:

    Seriously cute. We recently got a dog and I’m surprised at how attached I got to her and how much I love having her around so I’m really happy for you. Enjoy your kitty.

  13. lailalailo says:

    Ok, here is my coming out. I’ve been reading your blog for quite some weeks. But too many coincidences. Same infertility doctor I beleive, attended also the AFA presentation as a member of EFA94 (and got hit by the 1 out of 10 who will succed…), and, above all, adopting a dog 10 days ago. 🙂 For the best 🙂

    • kiftsgate says:

      ahahha woow I have an unknown twin! I follow you on twitter so I’ll DM there. Good job on following the infertility day by the way, you made it really easy for me to see what was going on. And congrats on getting a puppy!! xx

    • kiftsgate says:

      Can’t DM (yet). I wish I had known you were going to AFA presentation before. We stood there for 15 minutes looking for someone to talk to and didn’t manage. Everyone rushed out (it was super late… ).

      • lailalailo says:

        Sorry no one came to talk to you, everybody left right away (we did!), because it was sooo late. Next event is on June 20 I think, but we will not be able to attend. Let’s keep in touch, and meet during the July gathering !

  14. Super cute kitten! I’ve been hinting the idea of getting a cat to my husband and I think it’s growing on him. Enjoy the cuddles and kitten energy. xxx

  15. Dani says:

    Hoping she’ll bring you much joy.

  16. julys974 says:

    Oh, your kitten is soooo cute !!! Maybe we are a little bite crazy with our pet, taking care like a baby, but they are so lovely… Welcome home little cat !! Mom & dad are juste happy !! 😉

  17. Stefanie says:

    Adorable! I didn’t know love until I adopted my puppy, Kona. Animals have such a way of teaching us unconditional love!

  18. chels819 says:

    What a cutie! Congrats!

  19. ecila69 says:

    Congrat’s it’s a wonderful news! When my husband and I had tough times few years ago we decided to transfer all our love and affection to a second and freshly new born kitten (we already had a big baby cat called Jackson – baby cat I means 10 kg of love and hair everywhere on our clothes and floor). This little second cat, Kara, litteraly helps us to live a little more peacefully this time of trouble. Weird maybe but she is still full of joy helpful and gentle every single day! I’m really happy for you to finally had this joy 🙂 Welcome to the cutest 🙂 bises

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thank you! I’m totally in love with this kitty. She makes me smile and she gives me stress-free time as I make her play.. I’m so happy we got her. Give a cuddle to your cats on my behalf 😉
      xx

  20. I love this! My husband and I just adopted a cat a few weeks ago. He had said no for a while because we live in Europe and move a lot for his job, but our latest adoption failure was just too much for us and he agreed we need a fur baby to love. Pets bring so much needed joy into our lives as we struggle with infertility or adoption loss!

  21. Pingback: Six months of furry love | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

