Jessica’s fertility proust questionnaire

Last month Jessica Hepburn, the writer of the wonderful book “The Pursuit of Motherhood”, asked me whether I wanted to answer to her fertility Proust questionnaire.

Of course I said yes! I love questionnaires!

Thinking through the questions was fun. Though challenging at times. For instance, I had no idea who Holly Willoughby was (thanks to my Dear Peruvian Reader – who is actually British – for giving me a summary).

I particularly liked a few of the questions:

  • What is your idea of perfect happiness? While I gave a single answer of what perfect happiness looks like, this question made me realise that there are so many things that make me happy and that I had so many moments of happiness this year. From lying on the grass in a sunny day, to going for a walk to take pictures, to cuddling my kitty or simply ordering Indian food and watching a movie under the blanket with my husband.
  • What food is evocative of childhood for you? I answered watermelon but this question made me think of all the wonderful things my grandmas used to cook for me (God, I miss my grandparents!). The orange sponge cake, panna cotta, fried fish, squid salad… mmmm… I wish I wasn’t on a diet so I could try to make them myself!
  • Which bit of you would you most want your children to inherit? This question, as well as a few others, made me realise how much I’ve changed through this infertility journey. Years ago I would have probably answered my (big brown) eyes. Now I answered something linked to my personality. That’s something I know I could pass on to biological children but also adopted ones or children coming from donor eggs. After all when I’m asked in which way I resemble my parents I always think of personality or values before physical characteristics.

Oh, and if you’re wondering what the heck I’m doing in the picture, it’s a fertility dance with the dolmens for me and my cycle buddies. I am a big believer in the magic powers of Celtic culture! It didn’t work for me but it did for a few of the others. So it was well worth doing!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

