A Heart’s Desire

HeartsDesire600pxA Heart’s Desire (Chronique d’un désir d’enfant en douce France) by Judith Uyterlinde  is the first book I read about an infertility journey. I remember desperately looking for books with infertility stories. I just wanted a book that would tell me: don’t worry, this happened to me too; I survived and so will you. This was the book I found.

I went to the bookstore and looked in several sections, including psychology and medicine, but I couldn’t find anything. Silly me, of course infertility books were in the maternity section.. [thanks bookstore managers for adding one more thing to the already long list of difficulties and humiliations in the life of an infertile. By the way, are books about death with ones about life? And ones about homeless in the the house design and decoration section? ]

Sorry, I’m digressing. Back to the book. I found it touching and honest. I could recognise so much of what I was going through in it. The writer describes so well the difficulties, the coping, the fighting, the despair that comes with infertility. But she also manages to convey the happiness and calm that come at the end of the journey, and how the huge storm of her infertility journey managed to highlight even more the beauty of the sunshine that followed. 

I can only hope that the storm will end soon for us too.

[And, if not, at least that infertility books get moved away from the maternity section!]

This entry was posted in Books,Movies&Co and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Heart’s Desire

  1. Yes that does seem rather cruel! I so hope for you to have the happiest possible ending to this journey! XOXO

  2. Bibiche says:

    I already read it (in french of course!) and I found it’s well written. I recognize myself too in many ways. It’s frustated to find that kind of book in the maternity section.
    I also read some websites speaking about miscarriages and guess what kind of advertising there are ? Babies, babies everywhere. It’s really getting on my nerves

  3. Hello my dear, this made me think of another book dealing with infertility. I saw part of the author’s testimony on the television (in France) recently and was very very moved by her… I bought the book, “Une Vie à t’espérer – Mon combat pour être mère” by Mireille Margarito, but I have to admit that I have not yet read it as I believe her journey does not end with a baby and I was not quite ready to confront that fear of mine. In any case, you may wish to look it up! Wishing you well! 🙂

    • kiftsgate says:

      Cool thanks for the suggestion. I’m not too much in the mood to read infertility stories at the moment. By now I kinda know what to expect. But it’s a great suggestion for the future as I may have to go that way at some point. Thanks! x

  4. jesselyn6585 says:

    I never found any IF books that helped me…mostly because I was stubborn and refused to look for them. I threw myself into the books about pregnancy and infants to prepare because I KNEW I’d be a mommy someday. Misconceptions by Naomi Wolf was my favorite. Sending you love!

  5. Little Wife says:

    Je me suis toujours dis la même chose ! Bon sang quel sadique a décidé de nous faire fouiller dans les livres de grossesse pour dénicher les rares témoignages de PMA ?

  6. E v e l y n says:

    Please email the bookstore and tell them how wrong this is. I was annoyed by a book description on Amazon once (said something about deserving parents getting their babies – like I’m somehow not deserving) and the author emailed me back with an apology and the new wording. I didn’t think they would do a thing. I was happily surprised.

  7. Dani says:

    Thank you for the recommendation.
    And the bookstore??
    Horrible!!

    With heart,
    Dani

  8. That’s totally ridiculous… obviously the section was designed by a fertile xx

  9. Smile says:

    So ridiculous, agree with NotSoNew, must have been a fertile. I really and truly believe that this storm is going to end for you very soon, it just has to.

  10. This post made me laugh. There is total insanity that accompanies infertility because of this insensitive world! I am certain the diet books are not in the dessert section. I wish you the happiest ending though:)

Leave a Reply

