Outlander or how I lost my mind for a fictional character

It’s time to confess. I have been cheating on you, guys. But only a little bit.. Most of my long commute time, which I usually devote to blogs/twitter, has recently gone into the world of Outlander. I feel excused in this betrayal by the presence of a very hot Scottish man, the Scottish highlands and lots of people wearing kilts and speaking with a strong Scottish accent. If you do not share my passion for men in kilt, feel free to go straight to the end of this post where I tell you about yet another doomed FET..

My lovely sister found out about this TV show and bugged me until I started watching it. She needed someone to share her excitement with and know I would not let her down.. We both got so hooked up that we are now also reading the book [by the way, the book is a lot more explicit than the TV show.. I was a bit shocked by it..].

Outlander is basically the story of an English girl who goes on a trip to Scotland with her husband just after WW2. She ends up time travelling to 18th century Scotland, where she starts some crazy adventures and meets this super hot guy who is basically my ideal man: kind, smart, ginger, Scottish, strong accent, kilt and irresistible scruffy look.

Jamie

I also like the lady in this book/TV show. Some things are so familiar: she’s English but finds herself living in Scotland (hence the title of the book Outlander) and she cannot conceive. I can’t but sympathize, being infertile, a foreigner living abroad (as well as in a land of wonder fertiles) and someone whose life rotates around the presence of a beautiful man (here she has it much better though as her hero wears a kilt).

No need to worry about my seldom appearances on blog/twitter land though.. Books do not last for ever.. what I think will last for ever though is my love for Scotland. Whether it’ll chose or not to remain part of the UK, Scotland certainly one of the most beautiful countries in the world and what I consider my second home  (one of these days I may have to admit third, but I’m not quite ready for that yet..).

Back to reality now! I went to see the gynecologist this morning. He checked my MRI results and thinks that I should not have an operation for now: the endo does not look severe, I am already doing IVF and he’d rather not risk it. We will probably have it done after this FET fails and we go on to an ovarian drilling.

Not much new on the FET: I started patches last week, I have been increasingly tired, the strong nausea has started and it will probably not leave me for while (in a dream world it would be a very long while, but I do not even dare to hope.. ). I will start progesterone tomorrow and I am scheduled to have the transfer on Wednesday. The lab will thaw my 2 day-2 embies on Sunday and put them in long culture until Wednesday. If they do not survive, they’ll thaw my 2 late blasts. If those don’t thaw… well… I guess I’ll just have to open a bottle of wine. Or two..  last news is that, of course, something came up at work and I have been asked to go for a short trip on Thursday. Every time I plan everything so well and every time something comes up… oh well, I doubt a short trip will make a difference to the outcome and it will keep me far from the stress of the office life..

I guess I will leave you with the motto of my new Scottish hero: “Je suis prest” or, in my case, “je suis prête”.

This entry was posted in Books,Movies&Co, Infertility and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Outlander or how I lost my mind for a fictional character

  1. redbluebird says:

    What a hottie. You have piqued my interest in this show/book. Sending lots of luck for this FET!

  2. I’m excited for your FET! The dude is not my type, but he’s nice to look at😉 XOXO

  3. allison2206 says:

    He’s hot indeed, totally get you cheating on us😉
    I’m on progesterone also and super tired. I’m super happy the endo’s not sever and I hope everything goes well Wednesday!!!

  4. Here’s something to make you smile: While reading your blog post, the first thing that popped into my mind was how Outlander sounded like the perfect TV series… for my husband😉. Not so much for the hot protagonist, but for the hot Scottish accents. We are just getting around to closing our bank accounts from when we lived in Scotland and my husband jokingly asked if he thought the people at the Royal Bank of Scotland would mind if he kept calling from time to time just to get his Scottish accent fix. Outlander is surely an easier option, with the added advantage of me getting to dream over the kilted Scotsman. In any case, thank you for the great TV series suggestion! My maiden name is actually Scottish and surprisingly the clan motto is in French–“J’ai Bonne Esperance”. And that is exactly what I have for both of our upcoming FETs. I am sending huge hugs your way! xoxo

    • kiftsgate says:

      oh wooow, didn’t know you also lived in Scotland! Can’t wait to meet you and have a good chat! that’s if you’re still planning to come in November.
      I like your clan’s motto! I’ll try to adopt it too..
      Big hug to you too and fingers crossed for our FETs.
      xx

  5. C.L. says:

    I’m on the 5th book! Been watching the show and it’s fun to see it coming to life. It will be interesting to see how they handle the wedding night coming up, lol. (Ps- 5th book is horribly boring at first. But I hear it gets better. Still trudging through)

  6. Smile says:

    Thinking about you right now and will be especially sending happy thoughts on Wednesday!!

  7. E v e l y n says:

    I’ve been thinking about the Outlander series. My mom has and her friends were reading them a while back. I didn’t know there was an infertility component. I guess that explains why my mom didn’t encourage me to read them. We normally share books. For most of this year I’ve been reading the Game of Thrones books (good grief will I ever read something else).

    I will keep my fingers crossed for you for this cycle.

    • kiftsgate says:

      The infertility component in Outlander is really quite minor, at least in the first book. I obviously just pick up on it but really didn’t think about it too much while reading.
      Never read Games of Thrones. Maybe I should once I’m done with the Outlander saga. But that’ll take a while already…
      Thanks for the finger crossing!

  8. Dani says:

    Sounds like a great series!!
    I’ll have to check it out.
    Thanks, sweetie.
    🙂 Dani

  9. Pingback: One excellent week! | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

