PUPO with a wee lazy blast!

Title says it all… I had one day-6 blastocyst transferred this morning. It’s the first time I have a blastocyst transferred – even if it’s a lazy one – so that’s exciting. The gynecologist said we have around 30% chances that it sticks. It’s better than nothing I guess. I do feel a bit sad about my 2 day-2 embryos, which did not make it to day 5, and my other blast, which did not thaw properly. I can’t say I’m surprised, and this is why I chose not to have them transferred at day 2 but it’s harder now that they are actually gone.

The nurse who announced we only had a blastocyst left was the coldest person on earth. Even my husband made a remark about it. She said like you would tell someone something completely emotionless, like your pizza fell on the floor so we’ll bring you a sandwich instead. And even then I think some people could have been more sympathetic in letting you know you are not to have pizza than she was to us today..

Things in preparation for this transfer look wonderful. The meds are successfully making their effect: I feel exhausted and nauseous and I even threw up a couple of times. Otherwise all my doctors are very happy with me. My lining is perfect. My blood test results came back perfect. My acupuncturist says my vital energy is perfect. The osteopath says that down there I am very “present” (whatever that means) and that all is perfect. I even got an injection to do as a prize for being so perfect.

I guess we did all that was possible… I can’t get myself to believe that this blastocyst will stick. But it doesn’t matter what I think. And I will still think of it for the next two weeks and try to do my best to make it feel welcome in its nest and hope with all my heart that it will prove me wrong.

This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to PUPO with a wee lazy blast!

  1. barrenbetty says:

    That sounds pretty exciting to me! Well done for being perfect😉 sounds like the perfect home for an embie xxx

  2. Elisha says:

    Miracles happen to those who believe so believe in this little embryo with me🙂 Anything is possible and I am prayin for ya! Xoxoxo

  3. Good luck!! We had one lonely 6-day blast that we did a FET with… And I am currently 22 weeks🙂 keeping my fingers crossed for you!!!

  4. Isabelle says:

    My friend also had one lonely day-6 blastocyst transferred for her number 2 coz that was all that was left before they had to do a fresh cycle. She’s currently six month pregnant with one perfectly healthy baby. Yes day-6 embies can do it! I am hoping for the best for you!

  5. allison2206 says:

    I hope your blasto will prove you wrong too! And good job for being present “down there” hahahhaah

  6. jesselyn6585 says:

    I really hope this is the cycle for you. Fingers crossed and sending sticky vibes to your little embie!

  7. sarahjkl82 says:

    Hooray for being PUPO, sweetie! Sending you the stickiest of sticky vibes. Xxx

  8. Here’s hoping this is your month. Sending so many positive thoughts your way.

  9. Smile says:

    Yay for wee lazy blasts! I am sending all the hope and love that I have that this is it for you guys. Sending ‘perfect’ vibes out to that little embryo to snuggle in and stay for a long while!

  10. I’ve got all my fingers and toes crossed for you, and praying hard this is your take-home baby!

  11. Little Wife says:

    30%, quite enough to hope right ? Fingers crossed !
    And as Allison already wrote : good job for being present down there ! hi hi hi

    • kiftsgate says:

      yes, I guess 30% is the highest I ever had! That being sad it made me wonder why in some clinics abroad a blastocyst has 50% and here 33%..
      I wish I could tell you the tricks for being present down there but I dont even know what it means!!😉

  12. Stick blasty, stick! Fingers crossed that this is it for you! xoxo

  13. NotSoNewtoIVF says:

    So pleased you’ve got that great little embie snuggling in. Sorry the nurse was a cow though. I’m hoping so so hard for you my love xxx

  14. Mlle C says:

    I am sending all my best vibes and positive energy to you. Keep hope: this will work.

  15. Maybe your wee little blast is not so much lazy, but rather a Tortoise type as in “The Tortoise and the Hare”. Hoping that the never easy 2WW goes as smoothly as possible. Sending gigantic hugs and heaps of hope your way! And you definitely deserve bonus hugs for the perfectness and to make up for that not so nice sounding injection prize. It is wonderful to hear that your body is doing exactly what it needs to be doing to help your little tortoise blast to the finish line. Gros bisous + xoxo!

  16. E v e l y n says:

    I have a couple colleagues who are rude and awful. When I spoke to my supervisor about one of them she said she figured this person doesn’t understand how she sounds. I’m not sure how that’s possible because I ususally know when I’ve been less than polite.

    Anyway, fingers crossed. xo

    • kiftsgate says:

      I think you are right that sometimes rudeness just comes from the way people speak and it is not done on purpose. But it’s actually very common here and I do feel there should be some more training for people that communicate bad news. I know an embryo that does not survive thawing is not the same as a person passing away, but still.. a little more kindness would help..
      Thanks for the crossing!!

  17. Pingback: Not so lazy after all | Today I hope

Leave a Reply

