Adoption meet up

I haven’t been talking much about adoption lately. Not that it hasn’t been on our minds, but since getting a long list of rejections from adoption agencies we’ve been feeling stuck and really down about the whole thing.

We still decided to go to a meet up of the local adoption association, which included adoptive families as well as other people trying to adopt. My my motivation to go had been low in the last days but I am really happy we went now.

It was a beautiful sunny day and seeing these families with adoptive children warmed up my heart and actually gave me some hope. When the new children were introduced with their families I couldn’t hold back tears. I was really ashamed until I saw I wasn’t the only one crying.

I also met lots of really nice people. I also finally met in person a lovely IVF buddy and her husband, which was really cool. Everyone was eager to talk, exchange and give suggestions. It was nice to be able to talk about adoption to people who have gone or are going through the same difficulties, to get good advice and encouragement, and generally to feel understood.

After this meet up, my husband and I went for a nice long walk in the woods and talked about adoption with a lot more hope than we have done in the last months. For the first time in months I feel like there may be a tiny chance that we may become adoptive parents one day, even if there is still a long way ahead.

Hope

This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Adoption meet up

  1. I’m so glad you found some support that you’ve needed and you and your husband were able to spend some time talking. What do we have if we don’t have hope? So glad you have some now.

  2. meghanoc says:

    I had no idea the difficulties in adopting. It’s something I have been thinking a little about. Oh how sad that there are loving parents desparate for a kid and kids longing for loving parents. HOw easy it *should* be to connect the to. I’m glad you have some good company and you and your husband have been on the same page. I will hope for you!

  3. allison2206 says:

    Sounds like an afternoon well spent! I guess in both infertility and adoption journey it’s really good to sometimes to meet people who have succeeded, just to remind that it is possible, even if it’s long. Really happy you got new hope from the meeting ❤

  4. Smile says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day full of hope and love and support. Still sending all my hope your way for that wee little blast! When is your beta?

  5. NotSoNewtoIVF says:

    So lovely to read this sweetie, it sounds such a positive day xxx

  6. gsmwc02 says:

    Best wishes with the adoption process.

  7. Dani says:

    Such a wonderful experience to speak and share with those who have been where you find yourself now.

    With heart,
    Dani

Leave a Reply

