Ciao

I had a scan this morning and all is well! Thank you Universe, unicorns and anything/anyone else that helped getting us this far!! Thank you! (Also, please continue..).

It was my last scan with our IVF doctor. I have been discharged and I am currently in search of a new doctor. I also have to phase out of drugs within a week. I do hope the embryo will stay there even without the drugs..

I’m 8 weeks and 6 days today. The embryo measures 22 mm, which is perfectly in range for today (Thanks, Doctor BB for verifying!). I hadn’t thought of this but my sister made me think that I got 22 once again! My birthday is 22/2, my first beta was 222 and now we’re ending this initial phase with 22. I like this!

I got quite emotional saying goodbye to the gynecologist. We’ve had our ups and downs but he is the most human and the kindest IVF doctor I have ever met and he’s been great in dealing with me, my never-ending questions and my often-too-high stress levels. It can’t be easy to pick up someone at the 4th IVF round, when you’re so full of doubts and despair that you may explode any minute.. I’ll never thank my friend LittleWife enough for suggesting to go see him and I can only hope that one of his next miracles will be for her!

As I was getting all teary I switched to Italian to thank him and say goodbye in the end (his wife is Italian so he understands and speaks a bit). So he walked us out and simply said “ciao”. I smiled at the idea of ending 10 months of being quite dependent on this man with such a quick and informal word and with a taste of home. I will miss him but I do very much hope that I won’t have to see him for a couple of years or so.

CIAO

This entry was posted in IsThisOurMiracle? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Ciao

  1. I’m so so happy !!! And i understand so well this “cio”… we’ve done the same and that make me crying a bit. Hope for LW !!! U and everybody !!

  2. allison2206 says:

    Lucky number 22 🙂 I’m super happy to hear everything is going so well, almost 9 weeks already! I can imagine it must have been weird to see him for the last time, I’m already thinking about all the docs etc who’ll receive a box of chocolates once I’ve given birth 🙂

  3. I’m thrilled for you! Congratulations! XOXO

  4. Biquette says:

    Such a happy piece of new 🙂
    I’m not sur about chocolates but here the tradition is to send a birth announcement card to the doc. I like this idea as all the cards in the doc’s office gave me so much hope.
    xx

    • kiftsgate says:

      Ok. Thanks for the French lesson!! I actually hated the cards in the doctor’s offices or labs. That’s why I liked Numerobis’ office. But if we do get there we will certainly send a card. xx

  5. barrenbetty says:

    Yeah I love all the 2s coincidences!! And yippee for being discharged 🙂 xx

  6. Isabelle says:

    So happy for you, friend! Those 2s are such lucky numbers!

  7. gsmwc02 says:

    Congrats. I’m so glad that this is happening for you. You deserve it. 🙂

    Best wishes on the next chapter in your journey.

  8. Little Wife says:

    Je suis toute émue ! I’m so so so happy for you. And thinking that it may be a bit thanks to my advice makes me really proud! Bisous bisous bisous.

  9. What a huge milestone! I was nervous about stopping meds too–so much so that I went to 13 weeks and my OB had to force me to stop! But all was fine and all will be fine with you too 🙂 Congrats!!

  10. Dani says:

    A gift bag of wonderful!! Sending you continued blessings of health, heart and hope.

    🙂 Dani

  11. Such a wonderful way to say goodbye. Now you can look forward to saying HELLO! Loads and loads of love and luck over the next wee while. Jessica x

  12. Smile says:

    Sorry for being so late to catching up but so, so, so happy to see this! How are you feeling and doing otherwise, is the morning sickness still pretty bad? Can’t wait to hear about your adventures with the OB, it is pretty surreal to be at an actual OB’s office with the normal people in my experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

