Today I hope. Today I’m French.

I have been living in France for over 5 years now. I am not French and actually occasionally struggle to feel at home in this country (mostly for silly reasons like my dislike for mustard and its presence everywhere). But today I don’t struggle to feel home.

Today I’m French.

I feel French for my strong beliefs in freedom, for the admiration I have for this country which defends such freedom, for all the people, of different religion, ethnic origin and beliefs, who stand together for the common values this country if founded on.

1.5 million people took part to the demonstrations today in Paris. More took part to others around France but also in the rest of the world. It was really impressive to see! I could not be one of them, even if my thoughts and heart were certainly there.

I really hope that today’s demonstration is a sign that there’ll be more tolerance. More fraternite’. More pencils and drawings, and less violence.

charlie_pencils
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today I hope. Today I’m French.

  1. Today I am French too! Jessica x

  2. Dani says:

    May we all be French and all suffer with those who suffer. Thank you for this ❤

  3. E v e l y n says:

    I’ve been thinking of you since this thing happened. I’m glad you weren’t physically harmed although it must be terrifying in so many ways. I do like the picture of the pencils. Like so many other things we do become stronger when we are hurt.

    Hugs to you.

    • kiftsgate says:

      Thanks for thinking of me. It’s crazy, last night I dreamed I was writing you a message to check on you and I saw this message from you when I woke up! Hugs back!

  4. Edith says:

    luckily, Sharing values is much more important than liking mustard

Leave a Reply

