Nice surprise from my body

About a year and a half ago I did a glucose and insulin test to help decide if I should follow some particular diet that could help IVF or take metformin. The endocrinologist said I did not have diabetes but that my insulin reaction was a bit borderline. She advised to carry on with low GI diet and actually gave me instructions to follow a diet for gestational diabetes.

I had already cut sweets and desserts of all kind, but that added more restrictions, such as on bread, pasta, rice and – the toughest of all – fruit. I followed that diet for over a year and I only went back to a less restrictive diet after I got pregnant.

Today I had my glucose test (which is compulsory at the 5th month of pregnancy in here). Having in mind what the endocrinologist told me before, I was expecting to be positive but I am not. I am seriously amazed that my body is behaving so well and I am very very thankful that all is going so well!

good unexpected things

This entry was posted in IsThisOurMiracle? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nice surprise from my body

  1. Bibiche says:

    It’s a good news!! 🙂

  2. barrenbetty says:

    Niiiice, way to go body!

  3. Isabelle says:

    Wow love it when our body cooperates! Looks like your pregnancy is going very very well. Yay!

  4. gsmwc02 says:

    This is great to read. I’m so glad things are going well. 🙂

  5. Smile says:

    Yay! Isn’t it almost surreal when your body does what you want it to? I am still getting over that on a daily basis. I have my glucose test next week (they do it at 28 weeks here) so hoping for good news as well (and not to throw up the disgusting drink).

    • kiftsgate says:

      It is really surreal! I better not over-do it with desserts though.. which is hard because all I want to do is eat cakes and chocolate!! Good luck with your test next week! Hope it’s good news for you too. xx

Leave a comment